We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Sunderland Museum & Winter Gardens
Ranked #5 of 47 things to do in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sunderland Museum & Winter Gardens is a great place for the whole family to spend a day, giving you lots to see and do. Situated in the heart of the city, the museum has four floors of exciting galleries and exhibitions waiting to be discovered. Learn the story of the city and its people and of fascinating worlds beyond. A programme of special exhibitions features both our own amazing collections as well as some of the nation's treasures, brought here through out links with national museums. Regular events and activities for all ages, mean that there are so many reasons to come back, again and again. Admission to the museum is free. Charges may apply to some exhibitions. Opening Times: Monday to Saturday 10am - 4pm and 12 - 4pm Sundays
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
Stevenage
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We pop in here every time we visit Sunderland and what a place! For free too. My son has loved it since he was 3 and we love the gardens too. Lots of fun talking about the stuffed animals!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    168
    60
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place to visit...”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Great place to destress as long as you don't go during a school holiday! The Mister and I like going on cold days to have stroll around and a nice cuppa. A nice break from the chaos outside and you can always find something new.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank petomine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“FREE & Interactive for Kids”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Tips: 1. Stop at the main reception desk & find out about kids' activities / pick up an activity sheet
2. Leave enough time for a good look round - this isn't just a 30min wonder
3. Sit a while in peace in the Winter Garden & soak up the calming atmosphere!

Visited with kids (8&5) on a rainy summer holiday day - it wasn't busy.
Picked up activity trail sheets for kids (they got a sticker at the end). Was amazed how big the place was - don't miss the live animals (tarantula etc) in Living World. Lots of buttons to press & hands on e.g. Fossils etc which other museums won't let kids touch. Plenty of clean toilets. Restaurant available but we didn't go in.

Some (a minority)of interactive buttons didn't work and some of the lighting was poor otherwise I'd have given this 5* for a good half day out for the kids.

Enjoy the park (there's a play park at the top of the hill) on a sunny day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Zip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Really enjoy going there and taking my nephews and nieces because there is plenty for them to see, and it is also a very educational place too. It lets them see how things used to be.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhoda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a history lesson for all”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

A lot of visitors are suprised when they visit this beautiful location in the city centre. A nice cafe' that caters for all tastes and the youngsters will be fastinated with the rain forrest with the massive carp and the dinosour footprints to follow.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank isaidiwould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunderland Museum & Winter Gardens also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Sunderland Museum & Winter Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing