We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice food!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millers Inn

Millers Inn
Ranked #98 of 417 Restaurants in Sunderland
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At The Miller's Inn Harvester in Sunderland food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.If you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Sunderland, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Fulwell, Boldon and Cleadon, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Hull
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice food!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

4 of us came for dinner, service was excellent, staff were very friendly and food was really nice the burger was really thick well worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DAZHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    49
    36
    39
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Insult to my taste buds”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

So after being ushered to a table which wobble like an alcoholic on payday we ordered drinks. Unfortunately they never had fosters so I settled for carling. Waiter came to take our order. After enquiring as to whether the cauliflower cheese and tomato tart was frozen I settled on the cheese and bacon burger. Frozen tart at that price. I think not. Salad bar fairly nice however no olives. Mains arrive barely hot. I'm given my cheese and bacon burger to find the burger is a chicken breast topped with under cooked bacon and processed cheese coated in grease of the bacon that had clearly been cooked on a dirty grill. As I would soon find out. So I bit into this contraption only for my mouth to be filled with the a chemical burning taste. VILE
By this point am getting the evils off the mrs. The waiter comes over and asks what's the problem. I explain for him to reply its flame grilled sir. Yes but theres a difference between flame grilled and god damn burnt. All in all disgusting

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dandan1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

terrible food worse service and on bringing this to the attention of the staff we were offered 1 yes 1 ice cream..rubber steak,smelly whole prawns,scampi out of a bag oven chips at astronomical prices...better of at maccy dee's

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awful service but decent food for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

After a very disappointing Christmas lunch (no break between courses and all frozen veg) returned on Saturday night with few family members as we do usually like the place and kids like the salad cart and self service drinks - can't really complain about the food , usual non Xmas standard but the service was terrible. Sat with dirty plates on our table for almost half an hour despite being right next to one of the waiting staff stations and we're not asked once if we wanted any drinks - had to ask for table to be (partially) cleared and then ask again for deserts. I know the waiting staff are just young and it was a quite busy night but these are just basic standards anywhere ,

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HayleyMichelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Millers Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to The Millers Inn Harveter. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good for famillies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I recently ate at The Harevester, the food was lovely, I had the grilled chicken and it was gorgeous. The sides were nice and so were the sauces. The salad bar is excellent, you can have as much as you like and it is constantly being replenished so it is all fresh! The staff were fantastic, as my meal came out I was feeding my baby.The waiter asked me if I would like it placed on the hot plate while I finished feeding him. When he was finished they were quick to bring memy food. Excellent service and 100% family friendly!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vodkamonster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Millers Inn also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
East Boldon, Sunderland
 

Been to Millers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing