We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jayelles - CLOSED

Jayelles
Price range: US$3 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: We opened in March 2010. as a coffee shop/bistro.....our motto is " we dont serve fast food...we serve good food as fast as we can." We serve a fast range of home cooked foods...cocktails, wines, spirits and beers.... we have a great sea view on the coast of seaburn...sunderland..tyne & wear...we pride ourselves on having been awarded 5 stars by sunderland City council .
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“High tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Just had tea at Jayelles. We reserved a window seat, the table was beautifully decorated. Gorgeous food. Lovely atmosphere. Well worth a visit. Thank you to everyone! Fabulous afternoon tea.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    16
    5
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always a treat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have been visiting the area for over 3 years and always make a point of eating at Jayelles. We have had snacks, evening meals, a big family birthday meal, and a Sunday lunch. We haven't been disappointed once. The team are always friendly and enthusiastic, that makes such a difference. The team always produce tasty, imaginative food, and long may it continue. Thank you everyone at Jayelles.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EarlGreyHot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Went for breakfast. My guest had omelette with cheese and tomato filling and I had the full English breakfast. Both were excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eibbedde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cant wait to return!!! Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Having booked a reservation for sunday lunch before the tyne/wear derby game 27/10/2013 and boy what an awsome lunch cracking home made yorkshire puddings very reasonable portions too perfectly cooked and very tasty my fussy 12yr old son even gave it the thumbs up by clearing his entire plate! Cant wait to return try booking a table near the window the view out onto the sea is a must whilst enjoying wonderful food

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank willis9899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We always visit Jayelles when we're in Seaburn. It's a welcoming, friendly place with staff who are very accommodating and attentive. The food is all freshly prepared and delicious with plenty of choice from just a snack to a full blown meal. Their high tea is amazing and very popular, presented beautifully with lovely sandwiches and cakes! The owner is an asset to the place and is frequently chatting to regular customers which makes it feel really homely. I would recommend Jayelles without hesitation to anyone looking for a cosy place to stop whilst visiting the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank melwood2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jayelles also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
East Boldon, Sunderland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing