We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.”
Review of Jayelles - CLOSED

Jayelles
Price range: US$3 - US$21
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We opened in March 2010. as a coffee shop/bistro.....our motto is " we dont serve fast food...we serve good food as fast as we can." We serve a fast range of home cooked foods...cocktails, wines, spirits and beers.... we have a great sea view on the coast of seaburn...sunderland..tyne & wear...we pride ourselves on having been awarded 5 stars by sunderland City council .
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Went here for a bite to eat today. We didn't realise we had to book so we waited 5 minutes for a table which was fine. We both had a beef Sunday dinner which was absolutely gorgeous, great big Yorkshire pudding and a good selection of veggies. Would definitely return again.

1  Thank gemzieok4ev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Had high tea at jayelles again today .Gorgeous food, friendly staff,as usual. A real treat. We had lunch earlier in the week too and that was delicious. The ham hock broth was very tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Jayelles let Cleadon Rotary have their restaurant exclusively last night for our Christmas meal. It was fabulous! My sea bass was gorgeous and my husbands steak cooked to perfection. The staff were great; service impeccable and the interior was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Drinks and conversation flowed and everyone was very complimentary about the food and the night. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heathermtn, Owner at Jayelles, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you all. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Yet again Jayelle's delivers one of the best meals to be had in Sunderland. The sea bass was perfect as was the 2 x Beef & 1 x Turkey that was had by the 4 of us, perfectly cooked & presented & served by excellent staff it really started the Christmas holiday season off very well. All the staff were very attentive & busy keeping everyone served, I can't think of anyone wanting to complain apart from the professional whingers that look for a free meal, I've seen a few over the years dining out & about in Sunderland but that's life I suppose. Anyway, I digress, an excellent night with great food & company & excellent chefs & waiting staff. Merry Christmas to all at Jayelle's, see you for post crimbo brekkie...Hopefully?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pugwashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heathermtn, Owner at Jayelles, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thanks again, its always a pleasure and it means a lot when people like yourselves have supported us for over three years...we must be doing something right x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

xmas night out with girls from work 16 of us , xmas menu fab meal all served together food hot no probs at all .they also do the best breakfast ever .many thanks girls see you again .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jayelles also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing