We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done”

Monkwearmouth Station Museum
Ranked #16 of 47 things to do in Sunderland
Attraction details
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well done”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Had a great morning at the museum. My two grandchildren aged 2 & 4 had a lovly time.there was a Meccano exhibition on & the persons running we're great popping the Meccano on the floor showing the childern how it works really friendly thank you. They also coloured in waved at the trains rolling past the drivers waved back great fun happy smiling faces.A tip take a picnic for lunch sit at the table watching the trains pass.theres also a nice play area & best of all it's Free fun.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LesandCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
483 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“An excellent way to keep children amused for a couple of hours”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I loved this place as a kid. I used to take my older kids, now I've a two year I get to go again. It is small, but it is free. There's some interesting reading to keep you entertained why the kids explore. It still has the bus exhibit they can sit in, a decent play area with a train, blocks and train set. They quite often have pens and pencils on the platform so you can be doing colouring in while trains and metros trundle past. The improved outside area is interesting: you can go inside a couple of carriages.

A great way to entertain the kids for a couple of hours. Handily all on one level so easy for buggies/pushchairs. I think they do parties, and if they don't they should/could do. You can park out the front for free. Also open on a Sunday which can be useful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank andymwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“small but interesting”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

If you've never popped in the museum while small is very interesting - why not get the metro and jump off for a quick tour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Small but good, well worth a visit”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

There's plenty of railway attractions in the north east, and deservedly so given the history of the railways in the area and how vital they were to the region. Monkwearmouth Station Museum may be of one of the smallest of these museums, but this does not detract from its interest. The station building itself wonderful, giving the idea of a station much grander than it is. Although space inside is limited, the best use possible is made of it - history of transport in the area, an exhibition of WW1 posters, and a very good model showing Monkwearmouth c1910 which shows the goods yard beyond the passenger station, which I wasn't aware of. Outside is a covered building for displaying two interesting items of rolling stock - a 1930's car carrying van, complete with 1950's Rover, and a 1915 North Eastern Railway brake van. The lines through the station are still used so you can see modern trains passing through. The original cast iron footbridge goes over the tracks to the opposite platform, where there is another building, but unfortunately this is not (as of yet) open to the public. Worth a visit, and friendly staff too

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A good use for the old station”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Visited with 3 generations and there was something for everyone. Its not just about railways and draws on the exhibits in the Sunderland Museums collection. Worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monkwearmouth Station Museum also viewed

 

Been to Monkwearmouth Station Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing