We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal very reasonable priced”

Tavistock Italia Retro Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Can't recommend this restaurant highly enough. Superb food. Friendly, professional staff. Great menu. Recession busting menu fabulous value for money. Will certainly eat here again when in Sunderland. Please open a branch in Berwick,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Tavistock Italia Retro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for such a positive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant. As for opening a branch in Berwick, you never know as we have some exciting expansion plans for the coming twelve months!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 269 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

Excellent food and service. Our waiter and bar man (Chris & Christian) made our night even more special with welcoming and friendly attitude. This restaurant is suitable for everyone whether dining in a group or alone. The food and service were faultless. Sunday nights offer a 3 course well portioned meal for £14.95 each including a half bottle of wine which I thought was excellent value for money. We will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Tavistock Italia Retro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am delighted that the staff made you feel welcome and you enjoyed our special wine and dine menu. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Walked in thinking we was massively under dressed. To our surprise we had a great meal between us. And then when the pudding menu was brought to our attention we didnt have any space left. After spending less than £40 for 2 of us with olives and a cheeky beer to start. This must be the best place in town to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adam2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Tavistock Italia Retro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank yo for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to our restaurant and found the food to be delicous and good value. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I've been here twice onow in the last couple of months with my mam and sisters, initially we thought we'd go to different restaurants each month just for a bit of a catch up, we've not managed to get past the Tavistock! Very friendly staff and attentive to all of our dietary need (as some of us are very fussy!) Food was excellent - we will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Phillippa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Tavistock Italia Retro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your custom and your review. I am delighted that you are enjoying your visits to our restaurant and I am also delighted that we are catering to your exact food requirments. Your custom and feedback is invaluable to us and a huge thank you for both. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This restaurant is one of our favourite places to eat. The food is fab, the service is great and reasonably priced. We love to try the different options on the menu, although a favourtie is Chicken Kiev. The staff are very friendly and even have a smile when we arrive without booking! Make sure and sign up for the members club as this usually means we have enough points for a couple of free meals at the end of the year. I would recommend this restaurant for any oocasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at Tavistock Italia Retro Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank yo for taking the time to review our restaurant, I am delighted that you enjoy visitng our restuarant and particularly enjoy the chicken kiev. I must say its also one of my favourites! Once again a huge thank you for your custom and review.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tavistock Italia Retro Restaurant also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing