We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blumin brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Midnight Moon

Midnight Moon
Ranked #106 of 420 Restaurants in Sunderland
Price range: US$16 - US$24
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Postcode: SR1 3PE
2 reviews
“Blumin brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Iv been going to midnight moon for about 3 years I haven't been in a few months and I think I'm experiencing withdrawal symptoms the food is amazing there is always more than we can actually eat so there is no chance of you leaving there hungry the workers are very friendly, iv recommended! This place to everyone I know it's amazing

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellemma1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    25
    16
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Dirty restaurant used to be lovely don't know how it's still open
Worst one in Sunderland
Avoid!
Would never visit again

Helpful?
4 Thank Girlie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“worst in sunderland by far!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

i would recommend my friends indian restuarant Little India which is located in south hylton,the food is fantastic along with the service and the staff.top notch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank gavin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shotton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“midnight moon review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

liked everything about this indian nothing to dislike, been going here for 4 years now and it just gets better everytime

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank derekapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“HOT.........?? NOT..............!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

First of all, I need to report that we've been frequenting this place for well over ten years and have raved about it to all and sundry- great food, great service, well- priced.
When a couple of our mates suggested that they fancied a night out in Sunderland for a good Indian meal, we didn't even consider booking elsewhere. As usual the service was great, and the poppadoms, pickles and starters were as expected. Also generally, the mains were exactly what we expected- flavoursome versions of the dishes ordered. Except for mine....I ordered a lamb dish which was described as HOT. Quite simply it wasn't.
Had it been described as SALTY, I would have concurred, but HOT.... definitely NOT! (very little lamb in the dish also btw).
Can't complain about the rice, nans, parathas, rices, beers and wines etc., but need to be made aware that when a dish is highlighted as HOT, it should be at least on par with an average madras- this quite simply wasn't.
Disappointed, but hopefully this was nothing more than a blip- we shall return!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MackemSpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Midnight Moon also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Midnight Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing