We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
Review of Gabriels - CLOSED

Gabriels
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
sunderland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Good staff. Nice hot tasty food. Attentive. Cozy atmosphere. Would certainly go back and recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank steph6507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Templepatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hasn't changed”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I last ate hear 12years ago and the decor hasn't changed one bit! It was quite homely, but could probably do with a refresh. The food was nice enough and reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purplebob6954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homely restaurant”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Had a really excellent meal in this very pleasant family run restaurant. Prices were very reasonable and staff lovely

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

A nice small place that was packed on our visit sat night 8th Feb . I would have happily given 5 stars but for the table I rang and booked a table for 4 at eight then I rang to confirm time number of people etc we got there in good time 15 mins early the place was full but a table was being vacated excellent I thought just right we stood by the bar [the only place with a space to stand. The table was set just as another party walked in and were shown straight to the table !!! they were followed by another party who were shown to a table before us after arriving after us, The waiter apologised and we got our seats half an hour late. The food is very good and no one could complain about the portions they are generous and tasty. The visit was for a birthday and one of our party is pregnant so standing at a bar would not be my first choice. The food made up for the wait and we enjoyed the visit I asked for a grapper drink the bottle was almost empty so I was given the drink for free as I said I would have given 5 stars except for the table shame. But I think that we will be back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterFli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Cuisine & Affordable Prices !”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Visited recently for the first time in ages. Good selection of first class food, served by efficient, pleasant staff. The wine prices were reasonable and the ambience was very comfortable indeed.

Well worth a visit !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southport76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gabriels also viewed

East Boldon, Sunderland
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing