We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“shame”

Gabriele's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 422 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
273 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“shame”
Reviewed 8 December 2011

There are so many restaurants on the Sunderland seafront and Sunderland in general, it makes me feel they take advantage of the location, rather than the cuisine.

My friend lives in Seaburn so it is very convenient and free parking when you can find it. We came last year and the food was average but the atmosphere was great and the restaurant packed. Although there are some very bad tables, next to the door – prepared to get knocked, shoved in the window – draughty, next to the toilets –say no more. If you do go, argue to get a better table.

The difference in 12 months is on a Friday night it was only a quarter full. Service was non existent. Huge usual Italian menu plus some blackboard specials. My friend had some meagre garlic mushrooms; I had some defrosted, tasteless scallops. We both then had the sea bass special which was slathered in garlic sauce. The vegetables were too overcooked to eat and the potatoes (frozen and fried) were about the best thing.

2 starters, 2 mains, 2 glasses of house white and a bottle of water for £45.

I feel like a school teacher saying “could do better”

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank _cornishpixie7_mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    38
    8
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good local restaurant”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The restaurant is very small and it has a very cosy feel to it. The menu has all of the old favourites and the portion sizes are very good! Ideal for teatime meal, but not so good for a special occasion!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueBell1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There's better Italian food in town”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My wife and I went here based on a local's recommendation. Ordered a pizza and lasagne and niether that good. Lasagne had an off taste and though the pizza was homemade, it too wasn't that good. Limited beer and wine menu.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarGuySacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you want a good Italian meal in Sunderland Don't go here”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We booked a table for two and on our arrival were shown a table just inside the door, possibly the worst table in the place despite the restaurant being virtually empty. We refused it as did three other couples arriving after us who were also shown to the same table. The JD & Coke arrived warm, without ice or lemon and the candle on the table went out and was not re lit till the bill arrived. This should have been a warning for what was to come. The crab Tortellini from the specials board was no better than the dried stuff bought in any supermarket and was swamped in bland tomato sauce. The pate had no sauce and was accompanied by dry lettuce and a couple of slices of tomato. We ordered two chicken dishes for mains which came plated up with veg which was well over cooked. My wife had a chicken with prawns in a white wine cream sauce and mine was in a white wine and leek sauce topped with crispy bacon. Both sauces tasted the same and both very bland indeed. The crispy bacon was vitually raw and draped across the chicken. Both dishes were again smothered in sauce. Most was left as did we as soon as possible.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyjess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gabriele's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Gabriele's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing