We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden angel”
Review of Backwaters - CLOSED

Backwaters
Price range: US$24 - US$40
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: A dining experience can be cherished most if the ambience is realistic, service is impeccable and above all the ingredients used in food are fresh and handpicked.Our cuisine is based on the regions of South India and particular focus given to Kerala. The region Kerala is located at the southern tip of India and through the centuries past, many have travelled to Kerala for the richness in spices produced over here.Kerala is identified as one of the 50 must see destinations of the world by the national geographical traveller and we the people from backwaters are here to celebrate this honour with our aromatic authentic signature cuisine.Our unique style in presentation of food is well appreciated by most of our diners and many praises to the pictures displayed in our walls taken by a well-known ecologist makes this experience of dining in Backwaters truly special. The restaurant offers a wide range of starters like fish croquettes and Tiger prawns marinated in southern Indian spices and pan fried; served with coconut sauce and spicy kokum (kokum is native fruit to the western coastal regions of southern India).Our main course includes 3 kinds of platters (seafood, meat and vegetable) and apart from these one of our chicken based dishes called ‘kozhi varutharachy curry ‘is a mouth-watering hot and spicy chicken prepared with roasted coconut and grinded with handpicked spices which make it a distinctly flavoured dish and is served with steamed basmati rice.The perfect way to end a memorable evening at the Restaurant is chef’s recommendation of dessert called Backwaters halwa which consists of two kinds of pudding made of semolina and alphonso mango, served with a scoop of ice cream.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Hidden angel”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

As good as Kerala Cuisine can get.
Fresh ingredients, great service and good food.
Comparable to the real deal in India

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank vindoc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    13
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

the southern indian food was nice but different to nnormal indian resteraunts. The cost is quite high although you can get high discounts from websites such as groupon

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank ell e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We read the reviews posted earlier and decided to take a chance. The food is realy realy good BUT not curry house fare. It is as authentic South Indian as you will get in the area . We have been to 'Rasa' in Newcastle several times and Backwaters Chef makes some mean dishes that stand out. The Masala Dosa and Vada with Sambaar are to die for.We have recently returned from holiday in Malaysia and the chef's rendition of these two dishes does his craftmanship proud. Dont leave without trying the Backwaters Halwa.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sadold2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stellar Cuisine, Gorgeous Atmosphere, Lovely Staff”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

One of the best restaurants in Sunderland. We initially tried this hidden gem on a Groupon voucher and were amazed by how delicious it was. The food is to die for and the staff are lovely, they even explained our starters to us and the significance to the area in India where they are prominent. The prices are a bit high but it is worth it. We've gone to this restaurant twice now becuase we just love it. The only downsides are outdated, dingy bathrooms and rather odd music selection, both of which you can completely overlook whilst eating the one-of-a-kind food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Spice up your Life”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We visited Backwaters on a quiet Tuesday evening when there were another three tables occupied.

The restaurant is basement level accessed down stairs from an uninspiring entrance. Whilst the waiting area and bar area were bright and welcoming, a quick glance around the table areas highlighted the peeling wallpaper, chipped paint and portable heaters (work in progress perhaps).

We were allowed plenty of time to peruse the menu and Yohann was extremely helpful in answering our queries and making recommendations as to what we may like.

We eventually settled on the Morina Thenga Soup (an aromatic soup made from immature green pods and coconut milk, garnished with sautéed curry leaves) which was served with kal appam (south Indian bread) and Rasam with spicy pappodoms (a tangy appetiser prepared with tamarind juice, chilli, tomato, pepper and spices for seasoning) which were both priced at £3.55.

For mains we ordered Kozhi Varutharacha curry (chicken breast fillets prepared with roasted coconut ground with spices including ginger, garlic and cinnamon) and Kurumulagu Kozhi Roast (roasted chicken breast fillets with pepper and chef’s special ingredients) served with two chappatis which were both priced at £8.70 and a side of Sambar rice (Toor dhal cooked with vegetables in spices) priced at £3.45.

The meals were expertly prepared, highly flavoured and portion sizes were good and all our dishes were cleared leaving no space for desserts. We did notice that all the other diners were frequently requesting jugs of water suggesting that the levels of spice may not suit everyone’s palate!

I like to be able to hold a conversation when in company and the volume of the traditional drummed music being dispensed by a speaker only yards away reached such a level that it was necessary to request that it was turned down to an acceptable level.

Backwaters is not a run of the mill Indian restaurant which is demonstrated by some of the prices, however, they do appear on Groupon (leading to directly emailed offers) so I may return and be more adventurous in my choices!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ermintrude73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backwaters also viewed

East Boldon, Sunderland
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing