We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food!”
Review of Cafe Eighteen - CLOSED

Cafe Eighteen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Trendy little cafe serving delicious homemade food and great drinks at amazing value.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This is a lovely little cafe with gorgeous food and relaxed atmosphere. My husband had a sausage sandwich and I had the wicked wedges ... both were delicious !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    35
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well done john”
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Popped in with my son he had a breakfast I just had a cappuccino both were absolutely brilliant will definately recommend to friends and family everything is homemade cafe is very clean and comfortable well done to John and the staff see you soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suebarrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming little place for breakfast”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Popped into the Olive for breakfast after hearing positive reviews from family and friends. Like many city centers Sunderland is becoming awash with chains and brands. It is refreshing to see more local establishments popping up.

Me and my son had breakfast here, and I was very impressed. Service was friendly and personable, the menu looked varied for meals throughout the day. Our breakfast arrived quickly and had clearly been cooked to order. We would certainly return to try out the lunch and dinner menu. The only criticism I would have, and its not a criticism as such is that it does not appear to open until 10am which is a little late for breakfast. Other than that it's spot on!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tom_h33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fab hot choc”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Great hot choc, cake ok although I don't think home made, staff friendly, nice décor, .good location - satisfied customer

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlivecafeSunderland, Owner at Cafe Eighteen, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Thanks for your review. All our are cakes infact homemade in store weekly with exception to the Peanut butter stack.... but we could never claim this as our own as its so good! Plus its shipped in all the way from America which we like to tell our customers regulary- thanks again for your review - hope to see you again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“cake and coffee”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Called in last week while shopping in Sunderland,and what a surprise ! wonderful moist date and walnut cake (a whopper of a slice,could'nt finish it.) and a decent cup of coffee for £3.95 !! yes only £3.95. defo call in agian.x

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eileen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlivecafeSunderland, Owner at Cafe Eighteen, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Thanks Eileen for your lovely review! glad you enjoyed your visit. The cake is homemade by the mother in law so she will be pleased to hear. You will also be glad to hear the cake offer is £3.50 so even cheaper! Hope to see you again soon - JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Eighteen also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing