We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long round trip, perfectly relaxed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Long round trip, perfectly relaxed”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Did a long day trip and hit on this purely on the association with the old football ground
We arrived late , later than planned 22:00.
Mild cock-up through no fault of the hotel - internet booking as it happens.
Resolved immediately.
Great room, brilliant bed, shower, bath.
Bar staff attentive and friendly
Breakfast staff ditto
Lovely view onto the North Sea.
Receptionist absolutely fab, a GEORDIE in Mackam and and equally as positive about the hotel, area and location.
2/3 nights would be great, a week probably too long but the hotel would still deliver I reckon

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Castlegate_King_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, General Manager at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and I am delighted that the hotel and the services we provide met your expectations. It is always encouraging to receive such feedback and I have passed on your kind words to the team. Once again, my sincere thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sunderland Marriott in the future.
Warmest regards
Raoul Lemmerling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    267
    123
    31
    12
See reviews for
161
265
22
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We booked my father's wake with the Marriott and as we have live away for many years we really did not know what to expect, though we did stay a few years back and found it excellent. We were in the Board room which overlooks the sea and this had been laid out with whitecloth covered tables and water carafes before we arrived. I had ordered tea and coffee when we arrived and this was served by a very friendly young girl. I had ordered afternoon tea and the food was excellent and good value for money. Ham,cheese and smoked salmon sandwiches, scones jam and the biggest bowl of cream I have seen in a long while with strawberries and several varieties of cut cakes all of which were delicious. As I had over ordered we took doggy bags away. Staff even made some extra egg sandwiches for a vegetarian relative. The service and the food and atmosphere made the bitter sweet occasion everything we had hoped. Thank you to all the staff for their care and friendliness from time of booking to when we left

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lancsliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, General Manager at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Please accept my sincere condolences for the passing of your father. It is very much appreciated that you have taken the time to write your review and I am very pleased that we were able to make the occasion everything you had hoped for. Your kind words have been passed to the team.
Warmest regards
Raoul Lemmerling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is about our 10th visit to this hotel as we enjoy the location so close to the beach. We stayed in room 160 which we requested as it looks over the sea lovely views from your bedroom. The rooms are spacious, clean and the beds very comfy always have a good nights sleep. The staff are always very friendly and happy to help you. The only problem I would say about this hotel is the parking for a 4x4 which we have, if the car park is busy there is parking underneath which we can't get in, but on this visit it wasn't a problem as we got the last space otherwise we would have struggled.
The pool and spa area is nice to relax in but the changing facilities are looking 'tired', and could do with refurbishing.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms ask for upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisadyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, General Manager at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
I am delighted to read that this was about your 10th visit to the hotel and that you once again enjoyed the facilities. I am also pleased you found the staff are always friendly and happy to help you. The team do work very hard to ensure great customer service and it is always encouraging to receive such praise. I am sorry you found parking your 4 x 4 an issue. We do have a limited number of enclosed car parking spaces which are not suitable for 4 x 4’s and we have a larger number of open plan car parking spaces. When the hotel car park was laid out in 1991, 4 x 4’s were not as widespread but it will be a consideration if any future renovations are made. I have also taken on board your comments regarding the changing rooms in the leisure club ‘looking tired’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your valuable feedback.
Warmest regards
Raoul Lemmerling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Rest of the place is too, undoubtedly the place to stay if you choose to go to Sunderland. 320 is literally over the road from a broad sandy beach with a great view,. Rooms are big, service is with a smile and the prices are only very very marginally more than very inferior rivals. Treat yourself, you're worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for 320 or another superior sea view room, they are at a very small premium to a car park view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jondi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, General Manager at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Great comments and thank you for sharing them with us. We are located in a beautiful part of the North East, overlooking the sandy beaches at Seaburn and we also have a fantastic view of the North Sea. The Sunderland Marriott offers very competitive rates and there is a best rate guarantee on the www.marriott.com website. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you back at the hotel very soon.
Warmest regards
Raoul Lemmerling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here New Year's Eve and attended the New Year's Eve ball. From start to finish our stay was excellent. We initially had a problem with the heating in our room but this was soon rectified and complimentary drinks where sent to our room. The staff couldn't do enough for you , they where very professional , polite and friendly. The hospitality was second to none. The reception area was stunning on arrival and our room was perfect. Very clean , classy kept to a very high standard. Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend the New Year's Eve ball .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, General Manager at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you so much for your review and I am so pleased that we were able to give you a New Year’s Eve celebration to remember. It is always pleasing to receive such feedback and your comments have been passed to the team. I do hope we will see you back at the Sunderland Marriott very soon and may I wish you all the best for 2014.
Warmest regards
Raoul Lemmerling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My friend and I had a weekend break between Christmas and New Year and we could not fault it.It was reasonably priced,clean,really good food,excellent pool and leisure centre and ,as the other reviewers have said,the staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peartib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, General Manager at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Many thanks for posting your review and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your weekend break at the Sunderland Marriott and that you found the facilities and staff to be excellent. May I take this opportunity to wish you a prosperous New Year.
Warmest regards
Raoul Lemmerling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed here for a family wedding anniversary. First impression lovely location and very friendly staff at reception. We had a problem with an exploding hairdryer which blew the power out in our room. I must say the staff couldn't do enough to help us move to another room quickly as we were now running late and let us leave our clothes and other things in the room until they could get the power on. I would stay here again as the spa was good and rooms nice and staff very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWallys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, General Manager at Sunderland Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
My sincere thanks for taking the time to write your review and for giving us your valuable feedback. Your kind words have been conveyed to the team. However, I am sorry to read of the incident with the hair-dryer but very pleased that the staff were able to move you to another room and rectify the situation quickly.
Once again, thank you for your comments and may I wish you a Happy New Year. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Sunderland Marriott very soon.
Warmest regards
Raoul Lemmerling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
400 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
April Guest House
April Guest House
#9 of 10 in Sunderland
44 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
6.0 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunderland Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunderland Marriott Hotel

Property: Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Address: Queens Parade, Sunderland SR6 8DB, England (Formerly Marriott Sunderland)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
#4 Business Hotel in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunderland Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a blend of modern luxury and convenience at the Sunderland Marriott Hotel. Located on the seafront, our hotel is two miles north of the city centre and overlooks Seaburn's sandy beaches. A full-service hotel, we offer high quality accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities - many enjoying sea views. The hotel also boasts three luxurious suite style rooms complete with a glazed rotunda overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunderland Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sunderland Hotel Sunderland
Sunderland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing