We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (866)
Filter reviews
866 results
Traveller rating
349
319
140
38
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
319
140
38
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view sea front leisure facilities marriott hotels swimming pool steam room leisure club corner suite separate shower trouser press changing rooms superior room two double beds lounge area seaburn beach car park bit dated
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 866 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We had a quick trip to Sunderland for business and I had last stayed here 10years ago. Hotel is a bit dated and water pressure is Terrible but the view is beautiful.

As platinum elite was upgrade to a spacious room overlooking water. Came we free breakfast and drink.

For runners there is a walkway all along the coast.

Breakfast buffet available with eggs anyway you want. Restaurant available onsite for dinner.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank ASBuckhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Grand Hotel Sunderland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Hi Andrew S
Many thanks for your valuable feedback and please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you experienced. We are aware the hotel is in need of refurbishment in some areas and we have an on-going maintenance programme in place, already completing several projects this year. We hope to serve you again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Kind regards
Liz Codling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed 1 night. We had a huge double room with lounge area & 65 Tele, and another 55 Tele in the bedroom area not that we used it, bed huge and comfy. Nice ensuite bathroom. Ideal location for seaburn pubs and restaurants. Right on seafront. Has car parking. Very reasonable. Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MrsDigibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Grand Hotel Sunderland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Hi MrsDigibit
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased the bedroom met your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. We hope to serve you again very soon.
Kind regards
Liz Codling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

A lovely stay. A very friendly staff. Ladies on reception helped us sort out concert transport and generally so helpful. Great food and drink. Really nice location right next to the beach. Will go again. Negative point Air-con in our room broken so very hot at night I was not happy about that.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank R0bNunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Grand Hotel Sunderland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hi R0bNunn
Thank you so much for your review and I am pleased you had a lovely stay with us. Your kind words have been shared with the team. However, please accept our sincere apology for the issue you encountered with the room temperature and for any inconvenience caused. Our maintenance team are currently addressing the matter. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to serve you on a future visit to Sunderland.
Kind regards
Liz Codling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

The room we stayed in was great for us , we loved it and it ticked all the boxes for us.
We hope to get the same room when we return some day soon hopefully.
The staff were so friendly and made you feel welcome. The hotel may be old and creaky in places but it was kept clean and they are upgrading parts of the hotel.
We are early risers and so one of the first down for breakfast in the morning and on our way down the main stair case (with it's creaks and groans) we would joke with Marrion on reception that "we would make crap burglars" She always had a cheery good morning for us. As did all the staff we met.
The breakfast was good and again met by helpfull staff who served us our drinks and took our orders for poached eggs.
We came accross a couple of things that Marriott could do better in the breakfast service that could easily be put right.
The cereals are just sat in an open bowl. Why ? Even B&B's we have stayed in have dispensers or individual boxes.
On our stay a coach load of senior people were staying at the Marriott and one of them got a few corn flakes too many in their bowl so decided to put a few back with their hand back into the main bowl.
We avoided the cereals for the rest of our stay.
On the hot section of food you have food in the red cast iron pots which have heavy lids with nowhere to put them down especially where the suasage and bacon are .
Could you not have them open and put one of your heat lamps you have over the plates there? This way no chance of dropping the heavy lid on your foot and dripping condensation everywhere. As I said things that could be put right easily.

We did not use the bar for drinks much as we thought the prices a bit high considering the pub next door , feet away from you was far better value price wise.

I would have thought the Marriott would have had better prices/offers to keep us and other hotel guests in their bar rather than going next door.
Apart from the above breakfast and bar issues I would have given 5 stars to the Marriott ,we can live with a creaky old staircase.
If we were as old as the staircase I'm sure we would creak a little too !
Looking forward to returning again as it was an enjoyable six day stay.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GMRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Grand Hotel Sunderland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Hi GMRotherham
Thank you so much for sharing your experience in a forum such as this one and we are so pleased you enjoyed your six-day break with us. Your valuable feedback has been shared with the team and, in particular, your comments regarding breakfast have been shared with our food & beverage manager to address. We hope to serve you again very soon.
Kind regards
Liz Codling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

So we had a rocky start as the hotel double booked our original room. We had booked 3 nights in the corner suites originally. However, we ended up spending the first two in another seaview room and out original room on the last night. This did put a damper on the start. However, Marian went out of her way to look after us providing us a bottle of bubbly on arrival, discounting the room and providing us with a complimentary meal on our first night. Both Marian and Sammy on reception made our stay. The food was lovely and plenty of choice. Breakfast was buffet style and you could order certain things on top as well. The hotel does need a little TLC throughout but overall very nice. The leisure facilities were ok but again needs some looking after. Great location. I would go back despite the hiccups to begin with.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mariej87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunderlandMarriott, Executive Office at Grand Hotel Sunderland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Hi Marie J
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review and I sincerely apologise for the mix up with your booking. However, it is pleasing to read that Marian was able to restore your faith in the services we offer, and both Marian and Sammy will rewarded for their excellent customer service. Your valuable feedback has been shared with the team and we look forward to serving you again on a future occasion.
Kind regards
Liz Codling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews