We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“carvery is well worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ropery

The Ropery
Ranked #209 of 417 Restaurants in Sunderland
Price range: US$8 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Sunderlands most exciting destination venue! Relax in the rustic surroundings of The Ropeworks Bar. Treat yourself in our luxurious Italian Bistro, La Cucina. Chill out by the river on our outside terrace. Planing a party? We have two private hire rooms & a team dedicated to make your experience exceptional. UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT AS OF APRIL 2014.
durham, england
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“carvery is well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

this is my second visit to the ropery for sunday lunch. the last time we went for a sunday lunch that was served to you but this time it was for a carvery. we had a living social voucher that i had bought in august and getting 4 of us together was a nightmare. we finally got a date when the 4 of us were together but other 2 had to cancel cos of a family emergency and as there was only 1 week left to use the voucher we went and explained the situation. staff were very helpful and we were allowed to take 2 carverys for takeaways. of note is the fact that you can buy carverys to take away which is a fab idea and one i will be taking up again in the future so i dont have to clart on making hubbys dinner when i am stuffed after a meal out. regarding the food there was a fab choice of potatoes and vegetables, four meats and the yorkshire puddings were home made and very big. i was well impressed with the carvery, much better than the Toby. will definitely be going back. we went at 4 oclock and there were still people coming in when we left at 5 and i think they serve until about 7 which is great, cos i find the earlier you have have a meal the more likely u r to go home and fall asleep, whereas a late meal is fab for me. also we were so full after the carvery we could not eat a dessert. the staff were very pleasant and helpful. when we got home and looked at the takeaways there was even more in the carton than we had managed to get on our plate. when we left i saw a sign for a carvery for 4.95 during the week and will definitely be back to try. u cant beat a roast dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traceya89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    32
    21
    16
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tapas with a view in Sunderland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

A great place where you would least expect it - by the River Wear with a great view of Alexander Bridge all lit up on a dusky winter evening. Almost forgot I was in Sunderland which was worth the price of the bill itself. Interior was as you expect, service was great and food was excellent and served in good sized portions. Well worth another visit for the food and escapism. Ole!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank myster52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We were a party of 4 adults and 1 child who had a groupon voucher for 4, so bought a childs sunday lunch. We were shown to a nice table near the fire and ordered our drinks which arrived promptly. The sunday dinners were brought out with the meat , mashed potatoes and Yorkshire pudding on a plate and the vegetables on a large oven dish to be divided between everyone. One of the best sunday dinners I've had it was lovely. I have only knocked a star off as I thought the price of the kids and puddings were a bit pricey.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andrea s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good but room for improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Just returned from Sunday lunch with my family(5 adults, one child & a baby). We had a living social voucher, for 4 Sunday lunches & the rest we paid for. We started with drinks at the bar down stairs, then we were shown to our table upstairs. There was a menu on the table, which was a basic Italian menu but when we asked about starters before the carvery, we were told they weren't available on a Sunday. We then asked for a wine menu & after 10 minutes we got one. The carvery was nice, plenty of choice. When it came to ordering deserts there was about 6 options. One of the hot deserts was returned because it was cold but everyone else enjoyed there's.
The ropery is in a great location & the building is big enough to offer more. The carvery upstairs could have more tables, light bar menu could be offered down stairs & extra choice of food on a Sunday including starters & non carvery option.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vickbi1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We booked Sunday lunch at 2pm for two and arrived about ten minutes early. The Ropery was busy but we only waited a few minutes for our table. While we waited the barman chatted to us, served other customers and took payment for people who had finished. He was very pleasent and efficient and the ladies serving meals buzzed around taking orders and delivering meals to tables. It was all smoothly done.

My husband had the pork and I took the vegetarian option. The meals arrived after around five minutes. On our plates with the chosen meat/veggie option was mashed and roast potato, a large and VERY good Yorkshire pudding plus gravy. On a separate dish our veg was cabbage, carrot and cauliflower-all cooked nicely especially the cabbage.

We really enjoyed our lunch and had no room for the dessert choices. I found the location lovely and the building itself interesting to be in. We intend to go back nearer to christmas if they offer a Christmas menu and take my son, who at 26 has hollow legs and will love the large portions.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GemAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ropery also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Ropery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing