We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mowbray Guest House
Ranked #3 of 16 Sunderland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Hello, I would just like to say it is such a pleasure to stay at the Mowbray. My wife Pam and I have stayed there 3 times now to watch Sunderland F.C. and when next down we will try for the Mowbray again. However the word is out about the Owners being so friendly and helpful and the Breakfast will last you all day.Getting your required dates can be a bit difficult if not booked early enough. Hopefully I will be ok.
Dougie H.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Mowbray Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

My grandma and i stayed here at very late notice for a funeral this month. As it was so last minute only the family room was available however at the price offered it is so worth it for the extra space. The room was large and bright and the beds comfy. Wifi was free, and a great breakfast was included. The en-suite was large, accessible and clean. My only wish was that the shower was more powerful.

Nothing was a problem for the staff, we were even allowed to stay in our room later on departure day which was a great help to us. There is a carpark right out side which is helpful. Your only problem may be finding the guest house as it lacks any large signs outside, although the satnav does take you to right there.

Room Tip: We had the family room, very spacious - 1 double, 2 singles and a massive flat screen TV. There is a...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed at the Mowbray Guest House on the 25th January 2014 and its was spotless, was welcomed at the door by Alison who was very polite and showed to our rooms and was lovely decorated and spacious. Would definitely recommend this guest house and will come back again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Very nice clean and so warm. Alison the owner very polite and helpful. A lovely cooked breakfast not to big not to small just the right amount.

Would definitely stay again highly recommended and a pleasure to stay
Lovely and nothing to much trouble for the owners and free wifi to

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kev975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed her on a overnite stay as was in Sunderland for the football excellent B and B clean tidy stayed in a room with 2 singles and a double bed comfy lovely white bedding massive television plenty of tea and coffee plenty of towels and a excellent breakfast if in the area again will be staying her top draw

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I had a family room with 2 single beds and 1 double bed to myself. Lovely place, friendly host,
delicious breakfast. Has own car park which is essential, 5 minutes walk from town centre. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Our third stay at the Mowbray for our annual visit to Sunderland. Love coming to this beautifully presented B&B, hence our return for the third year running.
Given the time of year, it's always cold when we arrive in Sunderland, however once we are inside the Mowbray, the cold disappears. The guest house is always lovely and warm throughout, Alison and Kevin's welcome is even warmer. They are great hosts who take pride in their business and nothing is too much trouble, just ask!
The Mowbray is clean and tidy throughout, tastefully decorated without spoiling the original Victorian features. Our party has had the pleasure of staying in three different rooms and been more than satisfied with each one. They are always really clean, the beds are super-comfy, tea/coffee facilities are provided, including biscuits, there is a large flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi. The rooms all have a en-suite bathroom, with a hot shower. Large fluffy, soft (yes soft, not over washed) towels and toiletries are provided.
The ground floor dining room doubles up as a guest lounge where you can watch tv, play on the games console or just relax.
Breakfast is just amazing, no one cooks bacon like Alison!!! And its hot which is a rarity.
The Mowbray ticks all the boxes, larger chains could learn a thing or two from Alison and Kevin.
We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swimmum99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mowbray G, Manager at Mowbray Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review its really nice and makes our job worth while x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
2.5 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
742 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Roker Hotel
Roker Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sunderland
82 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowbray Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowbray Guest House

Address: 6 Mowbray Road, Sunderland SR2 8HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sunderland
Price Range: £46 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mowbray Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mowbray Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing