We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice b&b with lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Chaise Guest House
Ranked #3 of 16 Sunderland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice b&b with lovely location”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I travelled to sunderland from Ireland with ny teenage son to see the tyne & wear derby match.
We stayed for one night and we were very happy. The room had a beautiful view of the seaside and it helped as we were lucky with the weather. The breakfast was lovely and we had a nice history of staying at this guesthouse for years back so john was very good to us. Great host, great location, great room, not great match result.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoloB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
47
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the family room for one night. The owner was very flexible with check in times
The room had a superb sea view and was clean and spacious. The beds were comfy and had kettle and tea/coffee. The breakfast was lovely and the owner would cook what you wanted. Great value at 50£ for the 3 of us. We would definately book again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lemsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012

in a word, second to none when u think about the money...he helped me to find places, helped to call cab and so on..
".John is a great host, the breakfast is outstanding.."
john the bestest, an excellent service!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nahid h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here a number of times and it has always been excellent...John is a great host, the breakfast is outstanding...especially with my wife who is on a Gluten Free diet...this place comes highly recommended (as long as it doesn't mean we can't get in next time!)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I spent 3 very pleasant nights at the Chaise Guest House in Room No.8 which had superb views of the sea, coastline, breakwater and lighthouse.
John, the host, was helpfulness personified . The en suite room was immaculately clean with all the usual facilities found in a top grade B & B.The traditional English Breakfast was second to none
The bus to Sunderland City Centre stops outside the front door and takes just 11 minutes.
I recommend the Chaise to any future visitors.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avonweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed 5 nights begining of October in room 6, an ensuite seaview room. Comfortable beds, spacious room - clean & tidy. John is a great friendly host and supplied a superb breakfast every morning. Great location on Roker seafront with easy access to beaches and into town. Excellent value for money. Would definitely return. 5 stars

Room Tip: Seaview room gives great view across Roker Pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I have never written a review before although I have travelled extensively, but I must describe a business where the staff go that extra mile to ensure that your stay is a pleasant and relaxing experience. On my visits to Sunderland I have found that the Chaise ticks all the boxes and more--the rooms are spotlessly clean --the sea views are iconic --and the breakfast is to die for.Enough has been written about John,the owner in previous reviews but Pauline is the star in the breakfast room--with more toast appearing before you ask --and small things like sweeteners being offered as she remembered from our last trip---just brilliant customer service.
Should this be your first trip the staff can reccomend restaurants-although they provide an evening meal---and discuss local attractions with you.
I would certainly advise anyone looking for a hotel in Sunderland to contact The Chaise

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room---its fantastic watching the sun going down and if you are up early enough w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyWood_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
0.7 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
728 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
5.3 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,393 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chaise Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chaise Guest House

Property: The Chaise Guest House
Address: 5 Roker Terrace | Roker, Sunderland SR6 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chaise Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the seafront at Roker, The Chaise Guest House enjoys an ideal location with perfect sea views. Guests will appreciate the friendly atmosphere and helpful service in this family-run establishment. This Victorian guesthouse offers excellent value for money. Breakfast is included and free parking is available.We have been in business for over 20 years and our initial objective has not changed - to provide excellent service, excellent food and a great atmosphere for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Chaise Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chaise Guest House Hotel Sunderland
Chaise Hotel Sunderland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing