We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Becoming a regular now!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chaise Guest House
Ranked #2 of 17 Sunderland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I've stayed here a couple of times and will continue to do so. The rooms are spacious, light and clean. The owner (John) is a really nice guy who works hard. The breakfast is by far better than most guest houses that ive stayed in and the overall experience of staying here is very nice.

The location is right on the sea front and only a few meters from Roker Park, its also only a 15min walk from the Stadium Of Light and St. Peters metro stops. Prices are very reasonable and the service that you get is great.

I'm staying again in september...and thoroughly looking forward to my visit!

Room Tip: The family room at the top is ok, but the rooms at the front of the building are my favourite, nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank baggieblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at Johns B&B for 6 weeks.

When I first rang to enquire about a room, I was instantly invited to call in and look around the proposed room.

I was welcomed by a very cautious local Sunderland man who welcomed me in and showed me room 8 - one of the sea view rooms. The price quoted was excellent whilst considering the size and location of the room. The B&B is spotless and major brands need the take note that it isn't always about polished marble floors but about a clean and spacious room, with comfortable beds and a host that cares for you as well as the room sold

John is a credit to the area, he has impeccable manners, wants to please his guests, keeps a clean guest house and has a very dry sense of humour. The breakfasts are brilliant

A prime example of his customer care - I needed a new battery for my watch, left it with him and he had it replaced locally at a very low cost. That is service

John - thanks for. Great stay. My only complaint is your red and white Sunderland Trousers 1st thing in the morning

Tony

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed for the spring bank holiday weekend. A brilliant place. Couldn't recommend it highly enough. John, the owner, was so welcoming and helpful even though we arrived at 1 am. The breakfasts are magnificent. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamS597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

After arriving in Sunderland very tired and cycling past the very modern marina had a lovely welcome from John the owner. He could not be more helpful- storing our bikes, giving us great rooms,giving us top tips on places to eat and drink, and marvelous views.

Definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

just the best place. superb hospitality. great location and people. I've been going there twenty nine years for business and pleasure. I WOULD NOT STAY ANYWHERE ELSE. Home from home, proper cooked breakfast. nice bar great hosts

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidwbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Brilliant location right on the sea front, spotlessly clean, excellent value for money.

John could not be more helpful and I simply wouldn't stay anywhere else when working locally. It may not be 5 star luxury but it certainly is 5 star hospitality. Excellent.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth asking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed here for a long time while working locally. John was always friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The rooms were all well appointed, comfortable and clean. It was excellent value, and I could not have asked for more. If I'm working in the area again John will be my first call.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
475 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
767 reviews
0 mi away
Roker Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roker View Guest House
Roker View Guest House
#8 of 17 in Sunderland
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lemonfield Hotel
Lemonfield Hotel
#1 of 17 in Sunderland
155 reviews
0 mi away
The Balmoral & Terrace Guest Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chaise Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chaise Guest House

Address: 5 Roker Terrace | Roker, Sunderland SR6 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Sunderland
Price Range: £47 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chaise Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the seafront at Roker, The Chaise Guest House enjoys an ideal location with perfect sea views. Guests will appreciate the friendly atmosphere and helpful service in this family-run establishment. This Victorian guesthouse offers excellent value for money. Breakfast is included and free parking is available.We have been in business for over 20 years and our initial objective has not changed - to provide excellent service, excellent food and a great atmosphere for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Chaise Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chaise Guest House Hotel Sunderland
Chaise Hotel Sunderland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing