We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and lovely staff!”
Review of Spice Empire

Spice Empire
Ranked #48 of 422 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: used to be the old Amalfi
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic food and lovely staff!”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I have visited Spice Empire quite a few times with my family and the food has been amazing every single time. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the food that they offer - they're great at advising which dishes we are most likely to enjoy depending on our individual tastes. My favourite dish is the 'Chefs Special - King Prawn Zafron' which looks and tastes spectacular! The prawns have a wonderful chargrilled flavour which I love. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    41
    22
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good value for money.”
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Visited Friday 3rd may, the restaurant was quite only about 3 other tables in but the atmosphere was nice & relaxed. 3 of us went, we were showed straight to our table. The restaurant is bright & modern. We ordered a bottle of wine, I had a orange juice & we ordered poppdoms & pickles to have while we look at the menu. We all ordered starters & main meals plus sides.After ordering there was a long wait between courses, but it was worth the wait. I ordered chicken tikka chat & chicken biryani.The food was lovely, plenty of it & worth every penny.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vickbi1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

me and my partner visited this restaurants yesterday evening and i have to say we thoroughly enjoyed the food we were served.

We Began with poppadoms and pickle tray which was very nice. I then ordered the grilled garlic king prawns starter and my partner opted for the chicken momo both we found delicious and good size portion for the price. For our mains i got chicken tikka balti extra hot and my other half got chicken tikka specialty dish - Sabka Maza both with garlic pilau, chips and garlic keema nan (which i had to say was lovely and soft just the way nan should be...also it was stuffed with plenty of meat)

With two large glasses of red wine and two pints of cobra the bill came to just under £52. We will definateley be back to visit thank you for lovely meal

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xXxDawniexXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food was fantastic but the service was lacking.”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Spice empire's currys are tremendous, attention to detail is great and its not very often a curry is presented in such a way, it really does make a difference as you eat with your eyes first.

However our last visit to spice empire was lacking the same sort of detail with the service. I understand the place was busy and I believe customers were also using Groupon vouchers (were spending even less). But we felt very rushed, once we sat down food came out relatively quickly, given adequate breaks between each course once we had finished our meals we were asked if we would like anything else, we replied no as we still had half our drinks left.

Without asking for the bill it was dumped on our table and we were watched until we produced a card to pay, once paid (still having drinks left) two waiters said have a good night and see you soon. We had not finished and we were basically being ushered out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank graeme s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Living Social Scam”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Anyone who still has a voucher to redeem be aware. All starters are £4.90 so you are charged £1.50 extra each no matter which starter you pick! Also we were charged an extra £1.00 each for main meals which were £7.90 and within the living social voucher allowance. I have spoken to the restaurant manager and he said the starter scenario is Living Socials fault as they misprinted the deal, however the over charge for my main meals was a mistake on their part and they offered me a £2 refund the next time I visited... Not very likely! Beautiful food ruined by being over charged. I will be contacting living social with regards to this and suggest others do too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank coolbabychocice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Empire also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Spice Empire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing