We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth the trip”
Review of Spice Empire

Spice Empire
Ranked #48 of 422 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: used to be the old Amalfi
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“worth the trip”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Yet another type of eating out , this time using a Living Social deal. It was a cold night in Sunderland but the restaurant was lovely and warm. There was a certain lack of atmosphere as there weren't many diners but I guess 6.30pm is quite early for some people. The deal offered a starter , a main course and a glass of wine. My husband and I were very happy to let my sister and son( both Indian food fans ) choose 4 starters and 4 main courses to share all round.The starters were very generous and I thought I wasn't going to manage the main course but I did and had a good taste of 4 different Indian meals. We all thought we had eaten very well for a very good price and had experienced delicious Indian food which was not too extreme for our delicate stomachs.We had added a few extras so there was money to pay but still a very inexpensive night out thanks to Living social. One small-very small gripe I asked for a diet coke without ice and it was served-yes with those little cubes bobbing around quite happily at the top of the glass but who cares I drank it anyway!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    41
    22
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolute Gem”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We ate here before a show at the Empire. We hadn't booked but were quickly given a table. The menu choice is excellent & I originally chose the tandoori baked trout. However the manager asked if we were going to the theatre, and advised against the trout as it took a little longer to prepare & he didn't think I would have time to enjoy it properly. I was grateful for the advice and chose the king prawns instead. They were delicious as was my husbands rogan Josh. Both starters, crab and chicken tikka were equally delicious. We came across this restaurant by accident but will certainly return. The staff were attentive and the manager took time on a busy night to chat with us which was appreciated.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GatesheadOscar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Alternative Spice”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Excellent food, very well presented in pleasant surroundings and good atmosphere.
Good competition for others and well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Visited here for the first time one friday night as had the Living Social Deal. Well worth the money (2 courses and a glass of wine each for 4 people £19). The starters our party had were onion bhaji,samosa selection,sheek kebab and mussels(at a small extra cost) all were delicious. Main courses were Garlic chicken curry,Chicken Korma,Chicken Balti & Chicken Palak. Had to pay extra for rice chips and naan breads. All 4 of us had empty plates and wouldnt hesitate returning with or without the Living Social voucher. Price including 6pints of lager and a large soft drink £35 total including voucher £54 which for 4 people you can not go wrong.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loumjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice food-Living Social voucher not so good”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Food was very tasty, portions average sized. Tables are very close together, felt like I was sitting with the group of people on the next table. Did not think the Living Social voucher was very good value. They do specials on Thursday and Sunday nights which at £8.95 (I think that is correct) is good value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 222JudyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Empire also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Spice Empire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing