We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real treasure trove”

North East Land, Sea and Air Museum
Ranked #9 of 49 things to do in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: NELSAM (formerly NEAM), features not only military aircraft and vehicles but also many civil examples. There is a Mk1 Trident being restored back to its original glory, ex-Blackpool trams in their own specialised building and a great collection of military vehicles from the former Military Vehicle Museum in Newcastle are now on display here. The museum holds special events during the year and there are "Ghost Walks" held at weekends (but you MUST book there in advance as they sell out quite quickly). The museum is well worth a visit, but please plan your visit for around 2-3 hours so that you can see everything on offer. Nelsam is run by volunteers so access to the Vulcan, Trident and some other displays is subject to the availability of our members to ensure your safety. We have a small shop selling confectionery, cold drinks, a hot drinks machine, a large selection of plastic model kits, some Die-cast Collectors items and Museum specific souvenirs all at reasonable prices(very useful if you are looking for a gift for Birthdays or Christmas). We look forward to seeing you.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a real treasure trove”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

i found the museum online, i have an interest in aircraft my main interest is vehicles and i got a surprise what i found in there. i found staff exceedingly friendly and helpful. i have been back a few times in last few months
what i would suggest is go and see for yourselves
look for Nissan sign on A19 when you see Nissan gates turn left
just for the record i am calling in soon
may i publicly thanks staff (volunteers) for all help and welcome i recieve
Dave
ps if i had known i had to put a description on i would have got details
sorry all i can say again is go see
Dave

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank david449NYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    58
    19
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawthorn,Co.Durham
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Interesting old planes”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is still a work in progress. The staff are helpful. Would probably suit young boys rather than girls although our grandchildren liked the mock up of war homes.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A very small museum don't think a lot of people know of it. Took two grandchildren age nine and four, they enjoyed sitting in the cockpit pretending to fly.our visit lasted around an hour and the pricesre reasonable, toilets are clean, gift shop not bad we always let the children choose one momento they had ice creams too which is always a bonus for children.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank liliandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good to visit”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The reason we visited was because it was an anniversary present from our daughter, although we knew the Museum was there we had never really thought about going. Glad we did, it was very interesting. It was a throwback seeing the 1940s kitchen, outside loo etc, and being a 4yr to 10yr old at that tiime it brought back childhood memories. There.were tributes to the home front services -- Fire Brigade etc. Then the highlight was the aircraft , many of the types I had worked on during National Service in the 50s, so especially interesting for me. However I am sure the current generation would find it most interesting as well. The military vehicles on show were also interesting. There is a coffee shop and gift shop available, which we did not use.
All in all a very informative and pleasant morning. The entrance fees are reasonable and volunteer staff friendly and cheerful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JAXMARG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

While the museum is very small and not up there with the larger attractions around the area, it defiantly has its own appeal.

While I was there for the trams,all apart from one coming from Blackpool, they have got a wide range of exhibits, from aircraft to military vehicles. The staff are very friendly and even agreed to open the doors to the new tram shed, for photographs to be taken.

The large aircraft hanger had a 1940s street, which led onto an Aladdin's Cave of aircraft, from the Second World War, right up the Cold War.

Toilets were clean, and accessibility was easy as there is tarmac to all of the exhibits. Refreshments, from a coffee machine, was excellent.

Recommended if you are in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank GrumpyReviewsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North East Land, Sea and Air Museum also viewed

 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to North East Land, Sea and Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing