We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TO THE LIGHTHOUSE !”

Souter Lighthouse and The Leas
Ranked #6 of 49 things to do in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Blyth, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“TO THE LIGHTHOUSE !”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I've just spent an unexpected couple of days in Sunderland and after walking round Roker Park in the early morning before walking along the promenade, the city botanic glasshouse in the late morning and the Souter Lighthouse in the afternoon I'm delighted to be able to suggest a visit to all four and there's even more to do if you have time to go to the Glass Museum and the wonderful Empire Theatre ! Take a look at my photos !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    112
    23
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“National trust, national treasure”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Good visit here, taken up the lighthouse and volunteers explain all about its workings and bit of local history to boot.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank grayswood50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We recently stayed in one of the lighthouse cottages and the scenery, walking and whole area is a gem. The lighthouse cafe is excellent and well worth a visit. The view from the top of the lighthouse is worth the walk up the stairs and the guide was exceptionally informative. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Good interactive displays for children.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike187058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A fantastic journey to days gone by”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The lighthouse is absolutely fantastic and has a great view over the sea and surrounding countryside but, for us, the highlight of our trip was the truly brilliant guide who showed us round and in a really unhurried way told us many stories about the place and gave us quite a hands on experience. Maybe this is not good for people with walking difficulties as the steps up are very steep but we loved it. Looking forward to our next visit - free for us as National trust members

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank starlightlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Coast
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Windswept cliff top”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Perishing cold even on a summer's day but fantastic views, bird life, walks etc. We watched a Shakespeare play in the ground -wear thermals!!

Helpful?
1 Thank GillyPNorthEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Souter Lighthouse and The Leas also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Souter Lighthouse and The Leas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing