We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Sunderland Central
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed for two nights from 12th to 14th July 2014. Great value for money, excellent location for the town centre, room was spotlessly clean. Staff were all very accommodating and friendly, especially Richie who couldn't do enough. Must better than expected, will be returning in the foreseeable future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Keren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I booked the hotel whilst I had an operation at the Sunderland Hotel. I was still charged four full nights even though I was in the Sunderland Royal for two nights!
Travelodge showed no compassion when even when I asked for advice on their chatline. They advised I upgrade to allow for cancellations!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
7  Thank Geoffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Good value for money, comfortable night sleep, friendly staff, ideal location and nice room!
It was a last minute booking and it was better than expected. I prefer it to the Premier Inn.
Can't be faulted for the price. I would definitely stay here again, without a doubt!!
8/10 :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Thought this was a great value for money hotel. The reception staff couldn't do enough for us, really friendly and very accommodating making check in quick and easy.
There is a lift to the floors but it is only small. We had a family room, it was really spacious and clean. Could have done with a few more towels but the ones we did have were good. The bed was very comfortable, had crisp white sheets and had probably the best two pillows Ive ever had in a hotel. There is a travel kettle, tea/coffee cups and a couple of plastic cups. There are a few sachets of tea, coffee, sugar and milk. There isn't a hairdryer, but you can borrow one from reception. The only downside to the room was no air-con. The weather was warm during our stay and our room was really hot but ask at reception for a fan and they will let you borrow one. There is some noise from the bar door but the inside of the hotel was really quiet.
There is am option for a small breakfast pack, but you are so close to the town centre I would recommend you eat there instead. The bar next door sometimes does takeaway meals, complete with drink, but check with them first as they don't always have the takeaway boxes. Also, if you go to the bar at night please take some ID as the bouncer is very strict and will not let anyone in HE thinks is under 25!
All in all, great location, 5 mins to the town centre, shops, cafes restaurants etc. Also recommend The Gatsby in the town for drinks and good value food.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the rear of the bar next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank LuluH1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Travel Lodge is a budget choice and it offers very good value and comfortable, clean accommodation. It is minimal so take your own hair-dryer and though there is soap for washing and showering you may prefer your own. 30 minutes free WiFi or £3 for 24 hours wasn't too bad and it was reliable and quick. The staff were unfailingly helpful and welcoming.
Generally fine - parking is an issue however as they have minimal spaces although there is a secure, locked overnight car-park literally round the corner.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the main road as the back is a main thoroughfare for late-night weekend dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I struggled to find a hotel that would fit 1 adult and 3 children so was pleased that they were able to fit us in.
Room had 1 double, 1 settee which converted to bed and a trundle from underneath settee for another bed.
Plus - staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and fresh.
Negative - wifi was a pain, saxophone player outside was not appreciated and parking could be a problem as limited spaces.

Room Tip: If you are unsure, call hotel before you book. They are happy to answer questions and put your mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Samyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The good - the location is very good for the train station and the city centre, there is a pub beneath the hotel which does food. The Bad - I dont know whether TL are facing major financial difficulties but the cuts to the rooms are really annoying, especially fr a woman, no hairdryer (which if you dont notice before you get in the low water pressure shower then you will have a problem because) there are no phones to phont reception to get a hairdryer! We only had one towel in the room for the two of us - you would think a basic room check would be done of some sort, One of us could sit on a chair but the other couldn't because there was only one chair and that was at the desk although there was a massive space in the room which would quite happily have fitted a table and chairs or a sofa or something!!! The room was hot - really too hot and because we were at the back of the hotel we could not open the windows without having the noise from the people outside the pub (it has an outside seating area which is directly under the windows) mind you our friend was at the front of the hotel and her room was so hot I could not enter it - I dont know how she coped fortwo nights!!

I would not class this hotel as safe for single female travellers. It really bothered me that if you were a woman travelling alone who had a problem during the night, you would not be able to phone reception or the police for help unless you fumbled around and used your own mobile phone. I think the hotel is designed by a man for single men with no hair - its the only possible reason for the lack of amenities. You basically have a bed for the night nothing else.

Room Tip: Lone female travellers should seek a safer hotel with proper amenities. Front is hot and on the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank DD88England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Sunderland Central, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback DD88England. We do not provide hair dryers in our rooms as standard however they can be borrowed at reception of a first come first serve basis; this helps us to continue to offer competitive rates for our customers. We would also expect all items to be in good working order such as your shower and your room will be set up correctly with the right amount of towels. We want all of our customers to have a comfortable night and in the summer months we also provide fans for our guests to borrow at reception. Please be assured that your safety is of utmost importance to us and we do require our staff to regularly patrol the building throughout the night and reception are available 24 hours a day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
441 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Roker Hotel
Roker Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sunderland
94 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Sunderland Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Sunderland Central

Address: Low Row, Sunderland SR1 3PY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
#3 Business Hotel in Sunderland
Price Range: £35 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Sunderland Central 2*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Sunderland Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sunderland Hotel Sunderland
Travel Lodge Sunderland
Sunderland Travelodge
Sunderland Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing