We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Sunderland Central
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here 3 months ago, so many issues and I have been back and forward with customer service who keep informing me that they are 'investigating' however I am STILL yet to hear a resolution. It has now been forwarded to their head of customer relations to try and get a resolution! Poor poor hotel and poor customer service

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    73
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
65
59
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

There isn't must you can say really. The location is good, use it for a place to crash after a good night out in Sunderland as it's cheaper than a taxi. It's noisy but what do you expect. It's blue. Very blue. Good little room, cheap, value and good breakfast in the pub below!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Kenvance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for the evening of the one direction concert in May. Got there a little too early after catching the metro from the central station in Newcastle. Although our rooms weren't ready the receptionist was very helpful, storing our luggage whilst we walked into Sunderland (a couple of minutes). One minor niggle was that they decided to redecorate on what was probably their busiest night of the year. Other than that, clean room, good nights sleep after a great concert!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank marcuswilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have Stayed at this Travelodge many of times from which each time I need to visit or stay in Sunderland I revisit. The staff are very friendly always will to help and make my stay better... Even when I needed directions Richie guided me to where I needed to be, He was very helpful and made my stay less stressful.

I have to say, seeing a friendly face every time I visit does make the stay better... Always smiling and willing to help customers.

I look forward to many more of my visits to this Travelodge.

Room Tip: I have stayed in many of the rooms within this Travelodge, from which I have had no complaints with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights everything to very high standard and staff very helpful and welcoming ... Richie couldn't have been any more helpful, what a lovely guy, will be returning on a regular basis
........................................

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank blues2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed for two nights from 12th to 14th July 2014. Great value for money, excellent location for the town centre, room was spotlessly clean. Staff were all very accommodating and friendly, especially Richie who couldn't do enough. Must better than expected, will be returning in the foreseeable future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Keren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I booked the hotel whilst I had an operation at the Sunderland Hotel. I was still charged four full nights even though I was in the Sunderland Royal for two nights!
Travelodge showed no compassion when even when I asked for advice on their chatline. They advised I upgrade to allow for cancellations!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
7 Thank Geoffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sunderland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Sunderland Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Sunderland Central

Property: Travelodge Sunderland Central
Address: Low Row, Sunderland SR1 3PY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
#3 Business Hotel in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Sunderland Central 2*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Sunderland Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sunderland Hotel Sunderland
Travel Lodge Sunderland
Sunderland Travel Lodge
Sunderland Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing