We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but nothing extra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Kuessnacht am Rigi, Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good but nothing extra”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

You will find a normal standard hotel with good beds and a half hour free internet service. For more internet you have to pay £3 for 24 hours. The connection is fairly fast and you can see youtube video or connect to VPN and work on you company folder.
The hotel is old and the building standard make the corridor floor noisy, which you can hear in the room. No air-con available. The bathroom has what you need and you have a boiler for making your own tee or coffee in the room. Flat-screen TV in the room.
There are no Iron and Iron board.
The hotel is outside the city and you have nothing in walking distance except a couple of car dealers.
The breakfast is simple, but good and fair.

Room Tip: ASk for highest number and you will be by end of corridors, then you avoid the most of noice from co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    87
    34
    11
    7
See reviews for
106
85
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed at the premier inn whilst Viking family in the local area.
The service on reception was welcoming with quick and easy check in, the room was pleasant and comfortable.
I can't fault any part of my stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights grom the 28th May on bussness. I have stayed in many hotels and Premier Inn are what they are. But the staff both in the Premier Inn and the Brewers Fare where the best ever. Helpfull no question was to much and smart. Its not 4 star but you could do a lot worse. I shall use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

great location, clean and spacious rooms, helpfull staff, pub next door serving food which was very quick and really nice. good location. big car park. we had a lovely stay with no noise. hotel is not on main road which was great as felt very safe and no traffic noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam_clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed at this premier inn for 1 night and it was great. They have fitted large plasma tv's in the rooms and the room was very clean.a great refurb by premier inn well done.we will certinly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chucky137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I have stayed at this premier inn several times in the past and have always been happy with the service. This time I came to sunderland to see a friend who was celebrating her 60th birthday . The staff were so helpful in making it a really special occasion - providing candles for the cake, singing happy birthday etc that really made her day
Thank you to you all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thecrazyraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

For £30 a night this is incredible value for money. Our room had a very modern bathroom and a flat screen TV. The rooms (we had 2) were in excellent decorative order and spick and span. Though this is your typical Premier Inn it has a couple of advantages.
It is only minutes from the A19 so travel south to Teesside or north to Tyneside is very easy, and the road into Sunderland is 70 mph, so journey time to the centre is very quick.
The other advantage are the staff who are helpful and very friendly.
See my review of the Stackyard if you want excellent pub food, about 6 miles away but mostly on the A19 southbound.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LuckyduckBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Roker Hotel
Best Western Roker Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sunderland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
Address: Wessington Way | Castletown, Sunderland SR5 3HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location within easy reach of the A1(M), A690 and A19. For shops and local amenities Sunderland city centre and The Stadium of Light football ground are only 2 miles away; other local attractions include the National Glass Centre, the Aquatic Centre, Temple Park & Silksworth Ski Slope. Our Sunderland A19/A1231 Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Brewers Fayre restaurant serving great value pub favourites in a family friendly environment. Wi-Fi available for £3 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sunderland a19/a1231 Hotel Sunderland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing