We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

A typical Premier Inn for an overnight stay. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. A lovely breakfast service. With the eating establishment there is a lovely secure outdoor seating area that is very child friendly and also a soft play area. The staff of both facilities were friendly. It is also nice that there was an attached corridor linking the hotel to the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights while visiting relatives. The staff, especially Ross were very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless, also the bathroom. The breakfast service was very good. I would heartily recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank evilcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Very nice staff who were helpful. Hotel could have been a bit cleaner but for the price was acceptable. Had free half hour of Internet which was good.considering its next to a main road it was very quiet. Will use again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

You expect a Premier to be spotless and this one is as usual. What makes difference to any hotel is the staff. Here they were smiling, welcoming and extremely helpful.
Thats all I ask for an overnight stay.
Location is very handy. Car park seemed secure.Not much around there but nothing is going to be too far away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racenight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Needed a bed for the night close to Sunderland as as was leaving at 5.00 am no real need for any facilities. Was a really good standard for a budget hotel. clean rooms and friendly staff. It was next to a main road but there was no traffic noise. I ate in the restaurant and again it was good value for money. A sort of up market pub grub menu but good service and reasonable price. I have certainly paid a lot more and not had as good a service as here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

You will find a normal standard hotel with good beds and a half hour free internet service. For more internet you have to pay £3 for 24 hours. The connection is fairly fast and you can see youtube video or connect to VPN and work on you company folder.
The hotel is old and the building standard make the corridor floor noisy, which you can hear in the room. No air-con available. The bathroom has what you need and you have a boiler for making your own tee or coffee in the room. Flat-screen TV in the room.
There are no Iron and Iron board.
The hotel is outside the city and you have nothing in walking distance except a couple of car dealers.
The breakfast is simple, but good and fair.

Room Tip: ASk for highest number and you will be by end of corridors, then you avoid the most of noice from co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed at the premier inn whilst Viking family in the local area.
The service on reception was welcoming with quick and easy check in, the room was pleasant and comfortable.
I can't fault any part of my stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
493 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
0 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
3.9 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sunderland
781 reviews
3.7 mi away
Roker Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel

Address: Wessington Way | Castletown, Sunderland SR5 3HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
Price Range: £46 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location within easy reach of the A1(M), A690 and A19. For shops and local amenities Sunderland city centre and The Stadium of Light football ground are only 2 miles away; other local attractions include the National Glass Centre, the Aquatic Centre, Temple Park & Silksworth Ski Slope. Our Sunderland A19/A1231 Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Brewers Fayre restaurant serving great value pub favourites in a family friendly environment. Wi-Fi available for £3 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sunderland a19/a1231 Hotel Sunderland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing