We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good night stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“A good night stay.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here when picking son up from university. It was very comfortable, clean and modern and quiet. It's better than most Travelodges we stayed at. I slept like a log, which I don't usually do when I stay away from home for the night. The breakfast was good and staff were helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunA19, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. Hope your Son is enjoying his time in sunderland? My team and I work hard to exceed our guests expectations. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    88
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
107
88
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Another great Premier Inn, excellent service provided by Ross and the team! In a brilliant location for access to the A1 and A19. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone. The breakfasts are superb quality too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rob1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunA19, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thankyou very much for your review Rob the team constantly strive to deliver excellent service at all times. I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us as well as out Premier Breakfast, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 days on short break. Staff very friendly and helpfull, sleep quality very good, room very clean. The only downside was the price of Premier inn breakfasts now £9 per person. This is ok if your firm is picking up the tab, not so good if it comes out of your own pocket. We found Sainsbury's mega store one mile down the road excelent breakfast 2 of us ate for £5. While we are Premier inn fans there is customer resistance over the food pricing. we certainly look round localy in future.

Room Tip: Eat at sainsbury's one mile down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham and Lynn... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunA19, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you all so very much for your recent feedback, this is greatly appreciated.

Our breakfast Prices go on a national rate and the Full Premier breakfast is all you care to eat and bottomless coffee, tea's & fruit Juices for £8.75
We do offer a continental option at £6.25 and thats also is all you care to eat.

The team constantly strive to deliver excellent service at all times to see that you have enjoyed your time with us at Premier Inn, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

excellent location -- went for swimming gala -- clean friendly and good food -- would def return to this premier inn
booked via internet - easy with no hassle - they even got up early so we had early breakfast

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunA19, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you all so very much for your recent feedback, this is greatly appreciated.
It is great to see that you have enjoyed your time with us at Premier Inn, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands,UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I use Premier Inn all over the UK and have yet to have a bad experience. So much nicer than the downmarket dirty doss houses that go under the Travelodge brand. It's also nice to know that Premier Inn wont sell your reserved room again and over book their lodges - unlike Travelodge.

My room was as clean as you come to expect in a Prem Inn. I usually sleep very well in Prem Inn beds but found this particular bed quite hard and I woke up a few times feeling uncomfortable. This is the only time this has happened so it could just have been me.

I used the pub for a meal - nothing much to say about it. The staff were friendly, the area clean but the food was nothing special - adequate, no more.

As usual the Prem Inn staff were polite and helpful.

As usual I asked for a printed receipt at reception. For some reason the breakdown shows VAT as zero? I'll have to look into this.

Room Tip: First floor,far end from reception, facing over carpark - was nice and quiet when I visited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilley_Wearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunA19, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We do take great pride in the cleanliness of our hotel, and the team constantly strive to deliver excellent service at all times.

I am sorry that you found the bed to be a little on the hard side I will be definitely looking into that, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excellent location just off A19 in Sunderland, friendly staff. large comfortable room. Attached pub nice with above average food, reasonably priced. Booked last minute by ringing - hassle free. Would recommend if visiting Sunderland

Room Tip: no pool or fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGENT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunA19, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We do take great pride in our hotel, and the team constantly strive to deliver excellent service at all times. I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

this hotel ranks highly in the "MOTEL" type hotels that i have stayed in over the years.Clean,Friendly,Comfortable,good food,I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the area.Brilliant

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popsinnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunA19, Manager at Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you all so very much for your recent feedback, this is greatly appreciated.

It is great to see that you have enjoyed your time with us at Premier Inn, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
3.4 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
705 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
3.2 mi away
Best Western Roker Hotel
Best Western Roker Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sunderland
817 reviews
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
Address: Wessington Way | Castletown, Sunderland SR5 3HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location within easy reach of the A1(M), A690 and A19. For shops and local amenities Sunderland city centre and The Stadium of Light football ground are only 2 miles away; other local attractions include the National Glass Centre, the Aquatic Centre, Temple Park & Silksworth Ski Slope. Our Sunderland A19/A1231 Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Brewers Fayre restaurant serving great value pub favourites in a family friendly environment. Wi-Fi available for £3 for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sunderland a19/a1231 Hotel Sunderland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing