We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We wont be back to a view of a brick wall and dustbins outside room 111(our room) noisy wedding guests in 110” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sunderland
Sidcup
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We wont be back to a view of a brick wall and dustbins outside room 111(our room) noisy wedding guests in 110”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We were given this Hotel when we thought we were going to the Holiday Inn in Newcastle found out when we got our joining papers when we booked for a coach trip to Alnwick and Lindifarme. Room was looking onto a brick wall and alleyway and had dustbins underneath our window and was disturbed every morning by the dustmen at 7.00am on two mornings and the last they came at 6.30am. We could have been moved after the first wedding party had departed on day two but chose to stay with our room "with a view" as the other members of our group were disturbed until the early hours with loud music from the wedding disco and noisy guests banging on doors and kids running up and down the corridors. We were then told that the second night would not be as noisy as there was no wedding. Guess what!! when we got back off our trip there was a bridemaid and page boys running around the hotel and another loud disco that night until the early hours. This involved our room this time as we had wedding guests next door and it sounded like they were holding an afternoon reception in there when we got back off of our trip. Then in the early hours we heard a hammering on the door the wedding guest was drunk and could not get in his room so I got up fuming after about a good 15 minutes and suggested the offending guest should go to reception for a room key. The banging went on and then he finally got in the room only to talk at the top of his voice.

On the last night we arrived back off a trip to find there was a 30th Birthday being held with more loud music and guests knocking on the doors between 2am. - 3am.

So you could say we had a noisy and disruptive weekend and was glad to get home for a rest and decent nights sleep.A lot of our group were elderly and it was most unfair for them to have to endure such a disruptive weekend away. The only enjoyable times were when we were out of our Hotel on the trips!
Room was dark and old and the beds were not comfortable. The water pipes run through the room hence it is like a suana in the night.

We were certainly ripped off when a lot of the guests had seaviews but then again noise. We had all paid the same money and we drew the short straw with the view but were not at a disco everynight. It seems to me the Wedding functions take over the best rooms anyway and we get second best.

Would not stay here again our friends were fine in the Holiday Inn where we all thought we were going to be, were fine. We came home for a rest.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julesb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    218
    109
    65
    92
See reviews for
152
214
31
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Just stayed there with a coach trip. I'd read the reviews on here (including that it was a 'hell hole') and went prepared to face anything that came along - after all we'd paid for the coach trip and only found out it was this particular hotel two weeks before departure. The tour information had mentioned another hotel 'or similar'. On reading Trip Advisor, the first thing we factored in was to pack our ear plugs - these are absolutely essential in this hotel and I really do believe should be available free of charge at reception. This is not as silly as it sounds as I once stayed at a inexpensive hotel in Germany (right next to railway line) and disposable ear plugs were on the bedside table in each room. Perhaps there is a (slight) chance you won't need them - some rooms are apparently not as noisy as others - but do take them 'just in case' - or else you won't sleep. We stayed three nights - there were wedding receptions on two nights and a birthday party on the third. One person in our group had drunken revellers running up and down the corridors and loud banging on doors. To make matters worse for them, their room looked out on a brick wall and rubbish bins. Apparently there is a room there with no windows at all - no one in our group was in that room. Which leads me to the rooms - I can see why reviews on here are varied as the rooms are so different. The place is somewhat like a rabbit warren and rooms are of different shapes and sizes and have entirely different aspects (which is the norm with hotels of course). Some rooms are apparently quite large and also have sea views. Also, there are a lot of rooms which have stair access only - not so good if you are a little less agile on your legs. Our room was very small but did have a sea view (which was magnificent) but it was very noisy (mostly from outside revellers - perhaps after the bar had closed as it seemed to all start around 1.30 am and went on (very loudly) for some time - ear plugs in and back to sleep!

I thought the food was excellent and the staff very pleasant and helpful. I would never choose this hotel to stay in if I was travelling independently. It is ideally set up for coaches and of course for receptions. The hotel of course has to run at a profit and would make a good deal of money from these events, so they are not going to go away - and coach tours are going to continue to come here.

So - make the best of it, take ear plugs, if you get a room with a sea view be very thankful, if not, well the sea is just across the road and a nice walk in the morning does wonders to calm your nerves after a night in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelToes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunderland hotels

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Arrived at check in to be greeted by Ian who went on to check me in moaning about how slack the staff were here and how he hated working there. A dirty looking chef intterupted my check in and I had to wait while he was dealt with. Specifically asked for a room that was not on the ground floor and was given 140. Had to go up 2 flights of stairs then down 3 flights to reach room which was on the ground floor. The window opened out onto the carpark so I spent 3 nights looking at the bonnet of a ford focus!

Breakfast was appalling with badly cooked food and lazy staff who tried to take your order before they showed you to a table

Rooms are dirty with suspicious looking stains on the tiles in the bathroom and pubic hair in the bath (not mine). The room was so hot as you couldnt leave the window open.

They also have the cheek to charge you 85p for a sun newspaper three times the face value of the paper.

The only good thing was the pleasant blonde haired girl who served breakfast on the thursday i was there.

Room Tip: small, hot, dirty,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Windypops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager184, Deputy General Manager at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
We were extremely alarmed when reading your review following your stay at our hotel. This hotel is an old building with bedrooms allocated on various floors and had we been made aware of your concerns relating to the allocation of your bedroom at the time this would have been addressed on the day of arrival. The bedroom that you were allocated is to the front of the hotel and is subject to direct sunlight which could have possibly made your bedroom even warmer but bedroom fans are available upon request and we could have ensured that one was available for you had a request been made. We would like to inform you that all of our bedrooms have recently been re-decorated and I feel your comment relating to the rooms being dirty is total unjustifed. You have made reference to our staff being "lazy" as they were looking to place your order before you got to your seat? and a personal comment was made by yourself regarding Ian. A conversation has taken place with Ian who is extremely concerned along with myself by your comments regarding your check in. Ian is an extremely professional person who is recognised by a number of customers in a positive way for his friendliness and caring manner. We do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us but can assure you that we have noted your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed for two nights with a coach tour, if you want a night`s sleep do not go there on a Friday or a Saturday or when there is a function like a wedding as the noise from the evenings "enterainment" in the bar is beyond belief.
The hotel has a note in the welcome pack advising guests that the room is subjected to noise from the public bar till 1am, however the noise levels are controlled by the management, "they are having a larf" the DJ must be trying to win the prize for the loudest disco in town, the management has little or no control over the disco or any other noise in this hotel, guest comfort does not seem high on their agenda.
When asked why the hotel was so hot, the room was like a sauna, we were told that the hot water system for the hotel runs through the rooms, we were offered the use of an electric fan which would be sent up to the room, it never arrived.
One positive note was that the room was clean the other positive note was leaving the place

Room Tip: Ask for room in other part of hotel away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Midor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Tiny cold single room with sounds of water pipes to other bedrooms 'til 3am & guests running up & down stairs most of the night. Bar was used by functions on both nights I stayed, so very unpleasent & noisy. With no lounge area there was nowhere to sit & relax with a drink & talk to fellow guests apart from the entrance hall. I was part of a coach party & the pre booked, pre ordered evening meal took two & a half hours to be served, 7.30 'til 10pm & was just about edible although the vegetables came with boiled stalks of broccoli & luke warm potatoes. The service was dreadful, at no time was the table all served together, hence some had nearly finished their main course whilst others were waiting to be served. The dessert was dry & rather inedible [I left it as did some guests left their first course & barely cooked main course]. Breakfast was acceptable although on the first morning the 'full English' was luke warm & we were all told to just order & leave what we did not want on the plate. Thankfully the breakfast staff were very helpful, the second mornings breakfast was fresher, warmer & more pleasant Reception was friendly but could not make up for the general lack of standards.

Room Tip: Room 136. Very clean, very cold, very noisy, very small. No suitcase stand -use the bed. Not a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spero_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

My trip coincided with the annual air show so the bars were packed and a DJ was blasting the music in the bar directly below my "suite" which had been liberally doused with some horrible fragrance to disguise a nasty smell coming from the bathroom. I requested a room change and was dispatched to a dungeon hauling 70 pounds of luggage up and down stairs. If you know any Sherpas you may want to get in touch for help. Carpets were stained and the whole place has this worn out grubby feel to it. Bed was lumpy and the shower was handheld only. Air conditioning was a small fan on the nightstand.The location is great but I could not stay one more night and checked out the next morning. The accommodation bill was 140 British pounds!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager184, Deputy General Manager at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
We do apologize for the disappointing stay you encounted but can assure you that we have discussed your comments at length with department managers. You are correct in saying that your stay did coincide with the Sunderland international Airshow which does increase the number of visitors to the foreshore dramatically and does sometimes deter people from coming to the area if they are looking for a quiet leisure break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

from the food,bar but all the staff make this hotel,rooms modern and clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager184, Deputy General Manager at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
We will assure your comments are relayed to our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
0.6 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sunderland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 11 in Sunderland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
April Guest House
#9 of 11 in Sunderland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
Address: Roker Terrace, Sunderland SR6 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Roker Hotel is situated overlooking the North Sea & Roker Pier. Boasting 43 boutique style bedrooms and 2 function venues for events for up to 350 people, suitable for weddings, corporate dinners, charity events, christenings and much more, we also house three bustling eating and drinking establishments. Open to residents and non-residents alike Let There Be Crumbs tearoom, Poetic License bar and Italian Farmhouse restaurant can all be enjoyed under our one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunderland
Roker Hotel Sunderland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing