We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
FALKIRK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the first time last week. What makes this hotel stand out from the vast majority of the other hotels I have stayed in is the great customer service. Warm, friendly and willing to go that extra mile (especially when you leave your credit card at the front desk!) the staff were great. Much appreciated and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Will definitely stay there next time I'm in Sunderland. The Thai restaurant is well worth a visit too!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEWART B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for such a positive review. I am delighted that my team showed excellent customer service skills whilst you were staying with us last.

I will pass your kind words to all involved and we look forward to seeing you agian on your next visit to Sunderland.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    224
    110
    66
    92
See reviews for
159
216
31
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sunderland Tyne-and-Wear
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

fantastic night. lovely comfy room. more breakfast than you could ever eat !!!
everything was top notch, staff, room and food. we were all very happy :)
we had our family Christmas party. 3 course meal. live band. disco. drinks.bed for the night. breakfast in the morning. all on a cut price deal.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view or you could get a view of a garage roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kollqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for such a kind review. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and party night with us.

Once again a huge thanks for your custom and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kindest regards,

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

On the 28th January we stayed for two nights in the Roker hotel at the beach in Sunderland. The stay was part of a trip organised by Training Trips for talented youngsters from Australia to Europe, and we had them just picked up from Heatrow after a weeks stay in Spain.

The rooms were very good and the Deborah and her staff were great, very helpful and nice. The food was good and even when we want to chance something or asked for a favour it was all possible.

We from Training Trips will definately come back to this hotel when we have another team over.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneke001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank youfor taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted that Deborah and the team ensured you had an enjoyable stay.

I will pass all of your kind comments to all the staff involved. We certainly thank you for your custom and we look forward to welcoming you and your groups on your next visit to England.

Kindest regards,

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

me and my family went to italian restaurant which is part of the best western roker hotel,we had a beautiful meal,but what made it extra special was the service we recieved of the turkish waiter isan.he was so polite and helped us to choose our main meal from the menu,which he suggested.it was also my husbands birthday in which isan made it extra special with the service he gave us,he made us very welcome from start to finish.we will be sure to return to this restaurant.thank you for a great night isan

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you review and custom. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience and that Isan looked after you so well.

I will pass your kind comments to all concerned and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kindest regards,

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

I stayed at the Best Western Roker Hotel Sunday 3rd February and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of my visit.

I was unexpectably upgraded to an Executive Room which I can only describe as breath taking! The Jacuzzi Bath took my breath away and I throughly enjoyed taking advantage of it. The King sized bed gave me the best nights sleep I have experienced in a Hotel. An added pleasure was wonderful sea view.

I dined in Retro Italia with some of my family, the food was devine and the service second to none.

Finally I choose to relax and have breakfast in bed the next morning, this was delivered quickly by a fantastically helpful man. It was delicious and ended my stay in the best possible way.

Will most certaintly return as I had a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for such a great review. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

I must agree the sea view is stunning and pleased you enjoyed the jacuzzi bath, I must confess I think its a stunning room also!!!

I will pass your kind words to the gentleman who was helpful in delivering your breakfast. I am sure he will be delighted that he managed to provide an above and beyond approach!

Many thanks again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Once again we've been fortunate enough to stay at The Roker!! My husband had business in Newcastle, it gave me chance to have a girly day with my Daughter! We chose the Roker after an exceptional stay, last September! Again we were not disappointed the rooms are beautiful, quirky and different! We ate in the Retro Italian! The food was again sublime! The fillet steak was to die for so beautifully tender, the antipasti was devine! We will be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for such a positive review. I am personally delighted that you enjoyed your second visit to our hotel, it was a pleasure to welcome you.

I am delighted also that you had such an enjoyable visit to our restaurant and that you found your steak to be sublime!

I am pleased also that you had such a great stay with your daughter!

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

We have recently begun having lunch in their restaurant - excellent service (the waitress/bar maid really makes an effort), good food, nice views of the sea, too!

The review is asking for a 200 hundred character minimum... what else can one say except that the restaurant has excellent service, good food, good views of the sea.. It would be nice if they fixed the hand dryers in the toilets, though. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit. I am delighted that you have begun to use our restaurant for lunch.

I have looked at the problems with the hand driers and have instructed for this to be replaced.

Thank you for your custom and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunderland
0.6 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
April Guest House
April Guest House
#9 of 10 in Sunderland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
4.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
Address: Roker Terrace, Sunderland SR6 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Roker Hotel is situated overlooking the North Sea & Roker Pier. Boasting 43 boutique style bedrooms and 2 function venues for events for up to 350 people, suitable for weddings, corporate dinners, charity events, christenings and much more, we also house three bustling eating and drinking establishments. Open to residents and non-residents alike Let There Be Crumbs tearoom, Poetic License bar and Italian Farmhouse restaurant can all be enjoyed under our one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunderland
Roker Hotel Sunderland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing