We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellant”

Ryhope Engines Museum
Ranked #19 of 49 things to do in Sunderland
Attraction details
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“excellant”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

very impressed with the engine rooms there was also a classic car show on had tea and cake inside and was very nice

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank denssity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A marvel of Victorian engineering”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

A very impressive pair of steam, triple expansion beam engines. Any steam enthusiast will be in heaven

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Wright_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lots of Classic Cars and a working steam engine”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Twice a year Sunderland Classic Car Vehicle Society hold a rally at the Engine Museum on days where the boilers are fired up and the great steam pump is in operatio.

Makes for a great day out for the family

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank C6Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Victorian Britain at its Best”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

If you have a young son or daughter who is into toy trucks and engines you must visit this place when the volunteers have it fired up and working.

It beats U tube, I phones and the web and will give them an experience they will never forget.

Awesome!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ColumbusDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We have often passed the Ryhope Engines museum when it has been in steam and one day we went in and how glad are we that we did. It was fantastic, I expected to be bored but the staff were great telling us funny stories.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ryhope Engines Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ryhope Engines Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing