We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If Carlsberg did restaurants!!!”

Signatures Italian Restaurant and Grill
Ranked #32 of 420 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Signatures Italian Restaurant and Grill is an ideal venue for large groups, families and couples alike with large booths and the cosy red room for romantic meals or special occasions. Our menu offers something for everyone whether you fancy something 'cheap and cheerful' or a succulent Fillet Steak (our Signature Fillet is a must). We pride ourselves on our great food and service by our friendly staff and were thrilled to be voted as one of the top 5 restaurants in Sunderland for 2012 by the Sunderland Echo. Adjoining is The Castle Bar, a modern yet relaxed bar which is ideal for enjoying pre or post dinner drinks.
sunderland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If Carlsberg did restaurants!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Been a lot of times now and never had a bad dish yet ! Lovely staff, cosy atmosphere and the best food I have ever had in a Italian. So glad this restaurant is about 5 minutes walk for me!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank angelSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    32
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterlee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Better than overpriced city centre restaurants :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Sick of paying over the top for mediocre food ??? Well give this place a try . I was browsing through Tripadvisor and stumbled across this place . What a find ;-) We gave it a go . From start to finish it really was a nice change . The polite waitress showed us to our very nice table and took our drinks order straight away . Drinks came within minutes which is a good start . I had already studied the menu online prior to going so I pretty much knew what I fancied . We were giving a reasonable amount of time to choose from the well put menu , which has a good range of options . I chose the Gamberoni Inferno ( one of my favourite dishes ) for my starters and my partner opted for the Bruschetta . Both were fantastic and cooked to perfection . The Bruschetta was one of the best presented I have seen and I have eaten in some very good restaurants in this country and others . For mains I ordered the T-Bone surf & turf with potatoes and veg , my partner ordered the Gamberoni Inferno as she was impressed with the one I had for my starter . We ordered more drinks and were served as quick as the first round . When the waitress served our mains I thought to myself " there is noooooo way I will manage to eat all of this " . The steak was almost as big as the large plate it was served on . The veg was spot on too and plentiful . My partners Gamberoni was also very well sized with ample King prawns on . My steak was cooked as I asked for ( medium-rare ) . I actually surprised myself when I ate every bit of my meal apart from ONE new potato . It really was that good . OH!!! I forgot to mention we were also served fresh bread and butter whist we waited for our starters to arrive . All of this excellent food including drinks ( 2 pints of Amstel and 1 large glass of Chardonnay ) only came to a very good value of £55.90p . If you don't give this a place a try you will miss out . And if you don't like it if you try it I would say you would have to be a very hard person to please or snobbish . P.S I may be wrong, but , I am pretty sure the owners of this establishment were sitting enjoying a meal of their own just a couple of tables away from us . It say's a lot when an owner comes for a meal in their own place . ( I'm sure it wasn't because it would have been free haha ) Thank you for a lovely meal and we will certainly be back SOON

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Would highly reccomend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is a great place to go I have been twice now and the food is amazing well worth it and not over priced ! Portions are a very good size we have been with a party of two and a party of 9 and never anything to fault! Infact were booked for another party in December

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunderland1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good Grub - Down Sunderland Way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Enjoyable night, good food and superb hospitality. Travelled from Cumbria especially for this experience and got held up for 3 hours on the A66.
Good Luck to Grant and Carolyn.

OK Carole

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDuck511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fine fare in New Silksworth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I ate at Signatures with my wife in July and again with family in September of this year, so this is a belated review covering both visits. I was brought up in Silksworth, but have lived at a distance for over 30 years, so what a pleasure to see a first restaurant for the village, and a fine one at that. The food was very good to excellent, fresh (including the fish, a generally good indicator) and well presented. Decent selection of good drinks, draught beer for me.
Clean, spacious eating area. The staff and owners were very friendly and courteous. A good eat anywhere, but we were particularly pleased to get such good experiences in Silksworth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alandju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Signatures Italian Restaurant and Grill also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Signatures Italian Restaurant and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing