We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Abit of staff training perhaps?!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Snow Goose

The Snow Goose
Ranked #76 of 420 Restaurants in Sunderland
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Abit of staff training perhaps?!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I've been to the snow goose a few times and the attitude of the staff is becoming a problem! From a customer view point the staff do engage well, it is seemingly a chore to serve customers, there is no personal touch! Perhaps they feel as though they have secured the business? Staff training and a smile wouldn't go a miss

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gvc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    29
    9
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice cafe on Sunderland Rivera”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Nice location next to the Marina with both indoor and outdoor seating. Not bad prices and the sandwiches were tasty. Excellent service and will definitely return. Plenty of free parking. Very close to the beach too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Superkev10SAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The World will beat a path to your door.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Since our last visit, the Snowgoose has had a few mixed reviews so we were curious to see whether it was still an eating place we could recommend. No problem. The service was very friendly and efficient. We waited a little while for our food, but the place was very busy and the waitress apologetic. The only noise I was aware of was the buzz of conversation coming from our fellow diners; I certainly couldn't hear a coffee machine. The meat content of my panini and my wife's toastie couldn't be faulted, and the food was really tasty. Our huge caffetiere of coffee was more than enough for two and all in all, lunch was good value. Just one thing ladies- can you put a little more cream in the scones, please?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonviveur_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Noisy and poor value.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was our second visit. The first time the food was good value and more than enough to satisfy appetites. Latest visit was disappointing, toasted corned beef sandwich had two thin (spreadable!) slices of meat between two slices of bread, for 35p more I could have had corned beef pie (which I did on previous visit) and got a huge amount of meat so very poor value for the money (£3.40).
Also on both visits the noise from the coffee machine was so loud that normal levels of conversation were impossible and as there were young children inside it was even noisier. Perhaps the machine could be moved into the kitchen.
We did mention at the time about the lack of content in the toasties but no-one came back with apology or explanation, so not impressed with service either which means that we won't be going back which is a shame as it is in a great location and could be so much better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaytripperUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice cafe off the beaten track”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

I have been to this cafe quite a number of times and always had a good experience. Good and drink is always well made and presented and is quite good value for money. Located off the beaten rack close to the sea and marina at Roker there is a terrace that has views over the marina and out to the river.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Snow Goose also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Snow Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing