We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Sunderland High Street West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our brief stay in the Sunderland Travel Lodge was great. the Staff very helpful and friendly. All the other customers were like ourselves family orientated. Unfortunately the weather was horried - LOL

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
5 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    74
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
52
92
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
hartlepool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed overnight after the One Direction concert with my daughter. We arrived early and the very friendly and helpful reception staff booked us into our room straight away. Our room was immaculate, the bed lovely and comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. We will definitely return :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jen966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Having travelled down to see a show at the Sunderland Empire we arrived at the hotel mid afternoon to a warm welcome on a horrible day of weather. The room and the hotel in general are modern and clean. The staff helped us with directions to the theatre which was a 10 minute walk away so all is good for anyone wanting a city centre break. We were advised to park in the public car park nearby and if you had a drink or breakfast at the adjacent Frankie & Benny's the parking was free!! We had a good nights sleep and after a hearty breakfast at Frankie's we set off back to Aberdeen, all in all perfect for a budget break.

Room Tip: This hotel is situated in a quiet area so no road noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank charles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were booked into the Central Travelodge originally but had to be moved due to a problem there. I was a bit worried this would cause a problem but not at all, we were just booked in without an issue and it was as if we'd booked into this one originally. The lady on reception could not have been friendlier and made sure we were settled in and told us about handy places for food, etc.
The hotel itself was lovely; really clean and modern and always smelt really fresh, like new laundry! The rooms had controllable radiators and were very quiet and comfortable as well as being spotless. The bathroom was lovely and clean and tidy as well. There was plenty of tea and coffee provided and clean towels each day if you wanted them.
Everyone who worked in the hotel was pleasant and friendly and nothing was too much trouble if we had questions about the area, etc. It was also really central for the city centre - only about 5 minutes walk.
We were in Sunderland for a family wedding and needed to organise a taxi to get us to the church, and the lady on reception sorted this out for us in the blink of an eye.
I would certainly recommend this Travelodge for excellent service and fantastic value for money. I would go back there any time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
6 Thank Helga31_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Arrived for one night on the 23/5/2014 smooth check in really clean and fresh and welcoming staff would recommend for anyone wanting to be in the city centre of Sunderland two min's walk into the city centre and all that it has to offer. we were visiting Sunderland for a wedding reception and would recommend this Travel Lodge to anyone visiting the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

excellent service friendly reception spotless clean room great night sleep and good location. carparking next door free if validated by frankie and bennys nandos or local chinese bonus free parking

good location easy to find free parking to validate locally rooms spotless quiet and like new. staff helpful and friendly



  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
6 Thank jackie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Tried this hotel for the trip to The Stadium of Light and was pleasantly surprised. I mean a budget hotel is meant to be a bit noisy and tacky right ? - Not this one , spotless and comfortable with absolutely no noise. Good location with numerous bars and restaurants nearby and a multi story car park (speak to reception staff - really helpful) close by. If this is Travelodge standard I am impressed and all for 37 quid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
6 Thank 999Mike_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunderland hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
Hilton Garden Inn Sunderland
#2 of 10 in Sunderland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sunderland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sunderland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland North West Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland A19/A1231 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Sunderland High Street West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Sunderland High Street West

Property: Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
Address: High Street West, Sunderland SR1 1UN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Sunderland High Street West 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Sunderland High Street West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing