We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely find”
Review of The Mad Hatter

The Mad Hatter
Ranked #24 of 425 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely find”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was recommended by a friend and to her by another friend and I hope that their reputation continues to glow and grow. Very nice people, good food and pleasant atmosphere, a great find.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happifeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    25
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We called in Saturday morning , a nice friendly welcome, excellent home cooking. I had the full english breakfast, cooked perfect and fantastic value for money,my wife had the sweet chilli chicken pannini, served with homemade chips ! Couldn't have asked for anymore , will certainly be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 27AM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth travelling for”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Just finished my Sunday lunch. Food excellent, service fantastic (the stuff supplied our three kids with games and books) and spotless toilets complete with a range of toiletries.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank scapes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“delightful cafe”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a lovely place to call for coffee and cake. I have had it recommended for sunday lunch but have not tried it personally. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ann a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Retirement Party”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I had my leaving do at the Mad Hatter and I was so pleased I did. The restaurant looked lovely when we arrived and the atmosphere was very relaxed. The food was amazing as usual and the desserts were sublime. The staff were very friendly and helpful, seeing to all our needs. We stayed as long as we wanted and all in all they helped to make a good night great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonymous73Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mad Hatter also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Mad Hatter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing