We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't take bookings if you ignore them!”
Review of Bellini

Bellini
Ranked #4 of 422 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't take bookings if you ignore them!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

As a previous reviewer said our problems were before we could eat. We had booked a table for 6:45 and arrived on time. The staff seemed like they weren't expecting us and asked us to wait in the bar area 'for a few minutes'. We finally sat down to eat at 8:20!! This was only after we had reminded the two male waiters twice each that we still didn't have our table.
Once seated we were able to take advantage of the happy hour menu even though the time had finished. Sadly, this was our suggestion rather than coming from the staff by way of apology.
The food was delicious, and the restaurant itself is beautifully decorated. It just seemed that the staff were rushed off their feet.
Hopefully this is a one off, or easily rectified by some in house training, as I would recommend the food and atmosphere here. I'm just not 100% convinced that if I made a booking I'd be seated at the appropriate time, though I'm more than willing to give them another try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_M_Sunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    127
    42
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Had a lovely meal here on a Saturday afternoon during happy hour - 7 adults and 1 child. We had an assortment of items, some from the specials list, some from the happy hour items and other general menu items. All came well cooked and well presented. The location is lovely, the small beer garden wasn't busy so it meant I could take my four year old out to play whilst we waited for the food to arrive.

The staff we good at catering for my Coeliac's disease and could guide me through ingredients on food I was interested in having. Although they weren't able to offer me gluten free pasta or pizza there was certainly plenty of other items I could enjoy. Everyone was nice and friendly, making sure every need was catered for. Would visit again and indeed we intend to very soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 540ssmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east england
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ok christmas meal”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had orderd our christmas meal ahead and they had ran out of the dessert that I ordered!! Food was ok, but nothing too special.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank db2vho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Been to Bellini 6 times in the last two months and its never let us down yet.. Food is amazing service is brill and the restaurant decor is fab. We have nearly went through the full menu !!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne &wear
Level Contributor
149 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Another good meal”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to bellinis and again no complaints. Staff are very friendly and efficient. The choice on the menu is fantastic with a good special price. You can see the food being cooked in front of you. Atmosphere lovey with nice furniture and ambiance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronneyroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bellini also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Bellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing