We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great restaurant”
Review of Bellini

Bellini
Ranked #4 of 422 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My first time to this Italian restaurant, I was very impressed, great food and great atmosphere, well worth a visit

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    126
    42
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited with family for dinner. Unfortunately had a long wait until a table became free, which was disappointing as we had been told by other family members that service was excellent. Waitstaff were attentive once we were seated which was good meaning we didn't have to wait long to order.

Starter (garlic bread) was extremely greasy and left a lot of oil on the plate but the main I had (pizza) was delicious and the chicken topping was cooked very well. Atmosphere is pleasant and inviting. Overall good value for money but fell short of the picture family members had painted.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingQuill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Eating out”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a very comfortable place to go for a meal, food is of excellent quality, the risotto is to die for ( well it's my favourite )
Staff are very pleasant prices again very reasonable a place you can take all the family

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank medic597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
“Lovely Saturday Lunch”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked a table for 5 sadly one of the party couldn't make it. No problem to the waitress. We had a lovely meal and as we wanted the childs main course when our garlic bread was served that was no trouble.
Delicious food, we only had soft drinks but they were served nicely chilled. Cutlery and tableware perfectly clean.
Not too many people in at 12 noon however it soon filled up with hungry diners.
Ladies rest room really clean and tidy.
Again as previous reviews - high recommended
i garlic bread with cheese, 1 chides pasta bolognese, a special (Angus beef burger served with dolcellate cheese, side salad and the divine chips) 1 Chicken breast in dolcelatte sauce with of course you guessed it chips and a pasta con cajun pollo no chips for me though :(
Fresh orange and mineral water 34.00 well worth it.
Lovely happy staff, always a pleasure to eat here

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Millyannpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

This was our third visit to this lovely restaurant. The prawns were delicious, the chicken perfect, the desserts fabulous. The only niggle was the 45 minute wait!!!! Really too long, even though we had drinks and a chat while we waited. We had a long wait on our previous visits too. I appreciate the place is always extremely busy, but we had booked. We didn't expect to be shown to a table immediately, but the booking system needs to be realistic to have any chance of reducing the wait. That said, this is a great place to enjoy first class meal.

Helpful?
2 Thank maryb1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bellini also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Bellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing