We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely. A little expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tosca

Tosca
Ranked #21 of 417 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
sunderland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely. A little expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely food. Very busy. Sometimes not as much attention from staff as would like. A little expensive. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank steph6507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    32
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Last visited Sunderland 2 years ago and found Tosca quite by chance then - not half glad we did! Came back for the weekend on 3rd May and were delighted to find it still there; so often I've tried to revisit a good restaurant only to find it closed down. It didn't disappoint - delicious food (and lots of it, I couldn't quite finish it) and really good service, so friendly but without being obtrusive. Whilst there we decided we'd like to go again the next night, rather than try to find somewhere else that might not be as good - crushing blow, not open on Sundays :( Will definitely be going there again on our next visit to Sunderland. And by the way the place we went to on Sunday 4th was a huge disappointment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TiredmumBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lunchtime meal - first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Have not been here for a few years. Popped in for lunch, no mega deals you see in Sunderland 2 courses for a fiver etc. However pizza and pasta at £5-95 is reasonabley priced. Portions slightly smaller than some restaurants but quality amazing and it is enough to fill you rather than bloat you. Best carbonara I have had, tasted the pizza as well - amazing. You get a loyalty card, 5 x lunchtime visits and you get a free pizza on your 6th. Food was absolute quality, I intend to re-visit soon and sample more of the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Love this place, great food and staff very attentive. Always busy which is a good sign and so always best to reserve. Love different places to try but never shy in coming back here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and family visit Tosca and have done for many years. The food is beautiful the service is 1st class a total recommend to anyone and everyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lealealeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tosca also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Tosca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing