We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Experience at 'The Shipwrights'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shipwrights Hotel

The Shipwrights Hotel
Ranked #33 of 417 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“My Experience at 'The Shipwrights'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have now eaten at 'The Shipwrights' several times usually inviting various friends to come and experience this amazing pub! It has such an 'all round winning combination for me'
Fab atmosphere, amazing views on the River, great friendly locals and of course food I can guarantee, is great quality a fab choices and Incredible value for money
Each one of my friends felt the same too!

Highly a Recommended! You'll not be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    27
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Eat here every week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We eat sunday lunch here every week. Its gorgeous. Absolutely fab. Pints lovely too. Food always quick

Helpful?
Thank steph6507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mothers Day letdown due to poor organisation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My daughter booked a table for 9 for Mother's Day many weeks in advance (they hadn't even thought about Mother's Day and didn't know the date when she rang). She booked for 12:30 and left her phone number. Imagine her disappointment on the day, when accompanied by her mother, grandmother and various other family members, she arrived to be told you have one hour and have to leave the table by 1:30! why did someone not call earlier and ask if we wanted to go in at 12? The result as you can imagine was that we felt rushed, some of us had only one course as the place was packed and people were standing over you while you ate or simply stared and watched as they were waiting for the table. It was grossly under-staffed with just a few waitresses dashing about trying to keep up. We waited a very long time for some of the courses and the desserts were mixed up, we even waited 10 minutes for cutlery at one point. The food was quite nice, lovely soup and the mains were decent. We wouldn't return as it really spoilt our day. As service was so slow we didn't leave until well after 2 as it turned out, but we were surrounded by people waiting for the table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Value - Good Quality Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We often visit the Shipwrights for tea during the week and receive a warm welcome, the staff are pleasant and make you feel at home. The food is always nice with a good variety/choice. The setting is 'cosy' with a nice coal fire. Very good value for money - always recommend to friends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Fish Is Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I eat out on most Saturday afternoons with my elderly mother, sister and friend and like to try different establishments for our lunches. We have visited The Shipwrights Hotel which is situated on the river bank a couple of times in the last two months and have found the food really lovely and tasty. I have never seen a battered cod so big! It overlapped the huge plate and was absolutely delicious! The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We usually sit next to the roaring fire which is lovely especially when chilly outside. Please visit and you won't be disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CaroleRanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shipwrights Hotel also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
West Boldon, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Shipwrights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing