We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Burns Night and a whole lot more!!!”

The Lounge Bistro & Bar
Ranked #68 of 422 Restaurants in Sunderland
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At City Bistro we provide a showcase for the next generation of chefs, demonstrating their talent and skill through creative cuisine and delicious dishes. Our menu covers a range of cooking styles using fresh, locally sourced ingredients, carefully selected to reflect the seasonal changes. For our latest menus, please give us a call. As a training restaurant we pride ourselves on providing a first-class dining experience to give our talented catering students, led by our experienced Head Chef, the best possible learning experience. This allows us to offer our quality food at a price few can match. As a fully licensed restaurant we also sell a selection of drinks and carefully selected wines.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Burns Night and a whole lot more!!!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I went with several friends to the Burns night and what a fantastic experience. The food as always was excellent and the students delightful and attentive. The haggis was piped in and great details and poems of 'Rabbie' were read out by very charming gentleman in full highland garb.This College run restaurant is simply fantastic, check out the Themed Nights at sunderlandcollege.ac.uk/the lounge. It can't be beaten for great food, excellent value and attentive staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea and then some!!!!!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We found The Lounge @ Hylton Centre by accident and so glad we did. We booked for afternoon Tea that day and although it was quiet, this was fine as we were able to chat to the staff about the excellent services they can offer. Do not delay in trying The Lounge. some words of warning - DO NOT HAVE ANY LUNCH BEFORE YOU VISIT. The quality and quantity of sandwiches and cakes on offer would shame many a five star establishment. All made on site by the students. Keep up the good work. Excellent value. We are looking forward to going for lunch and evening meals in the near future.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“HIDDEN GEM!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

hidden gem hidden away in sunderland college lovely little resaurant why isnt this advertised more?? had the Grilled filet of coley, buttered spinach and crab sauce - cooked to perfection
great value for top end cuisine big thumbs up to staff and students!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner !”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We were a large group of 14 who booked in to dine with you on Wednesday. We thoroughly enjoyed our rather delicious 3 course Christmas meal. The food was amazing, the service was fantastic, EXCELLENT value for money. We booked last year for 2012 and will be booking again next year for 2014!

Keep up the hard work, we will be back!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Will defo be going back the food was lovely and very cheap me and my two friends had a three course meal each and the bill was 30 pound all the staff and students were very welcoming and I cant wait to go back and tell all my friend and family about it

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beccabaker1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lounge Bistro & Bar also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Lounge Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing