We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Jewel of Sunderland”

The Lounge Bistro & Bar
Ranked #71 of 420 Restaurants in Sunderland
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At City Bistro we provide a showcase for the next generation of chefs, demonstrating their talent and skill through creative cuisine and delicious dishes. Our menu covers a range of cooking styles using fresh, locally sourced ingredients, carefully selected to reflect the seasonal changes. For our latest menus, please give us a call. As a training restaurant we pride ourselves on providing a first-class dining experience to give our talented catering students, led by our experienced Head Chef, the best possible learning experience. This allows us to offer our quality food at a price few can match. As a fully licensed restaurant we also sell a selection of drinks and carefully selected wines.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Jewel of Sunderland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The food is excellent - fabulous presentation, very tasty and the service is friendly & professional. The prices are very reasonable too. The quality of the food is better than quite a few restaurants I have eaten in.
Don't be fooled by having to go through the college to get into the restaurant - inside the restaurant is tastefully decorated and they serve alcohol too.
If you are looking for a high quality meal without spending a fortune this is the place to go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Went to the Itallian night as a special event, food was fantastic, staff in every department amazing. made our table of 12 in total feel as if it was the only table in the room
would recommend to anyone

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amber d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“GREAT RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Second time i've had lunch here and again was not disappointed. Service is fast and friendly. The food was superb and fantastic value for money. Highly recommended so give them a try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Hidden little gem - fabulous staff and great food at really great prices
Well done all the students and staff - I will be back

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I recently went to The Loung Bistro and Bar last week for luch on the friday and found the experience to be exceptional. Food and presentation was of high quality and the waitering staff were very plesant and welcoming, the place also has a great atmosphere. I would i recommend this restaurant whether your going for a quick bite to eat or out for an occassion and with be making regular visits from now on.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurendabbs96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lounge Bistro & Bar also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Lounge Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing