We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little Italian!!”

Sorrento Restaurant
Ranked #66 of 422 Restaurants in Sunderland
Price range: US$4 - US$21
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Sorrento; a traditional fine Italian restaurant in the heart of Sunderland. Sorrento is the result of a life long passion for fine Italian food and the place in which it is served. Based on our passion & love for Sorrento Italy, our restaurant brings the personality, identity, & charm of Sorrento Italy for you to enjoy. Sorrento promises contemporary as well as classic Italian dishes, served by a knowledgeable, passionate team who are lovers of fine Italian food. We are confident you will enjoy the mouth watering dishes whilst you take in the friendly, comfortable ambiance. Our menus feature fresh, seasonal ingredients and include daily specials both at lunch and dinner. So whether you are celebrating a night with a group of friends, a business meeting to seal that important deal, or just fancy a casual family meal we are confident you will enjoy every moment at Sorrento. Getting that small piece of Italy has never been easier.
Sunderland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely little Italian!!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Myself and my husband visit this restaurant on a regular basis. The food is great and the staff are very friendly. Good value for money

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Steffy-gib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    66
    24
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best value Italian in Sunderland”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Having been to quite a few Italians in Sunderland over the year I always come back to Sorrentos. The food is always excellent and plenty of it, but the cost for what you get is amazing. Staff are always on hand, helpful and happy and look like they enjoy their jobs. If you are thinking of having a meal out with friends or a family get together it won't break the bank and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJessam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Eat here all the time as it is so cheap! . The food as always was delicious, the service great and the staff so friendly and helpful. Excellent.

Helpful?
2 Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant Value Money”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Visited here yesterday for my partners birthday.
The prices on the menu are very reasonably priced, you can choose from a set menu from around £6 or choose from the full menu, both are very cheap.
The food was beautiful! the portion sizes were very generous - i couldn't finish my main.
The staff are very attentive, couldn't fault their customer service!
Planning to go back already, would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank natalie22-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“familybirthday meal”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Been to this restaurant on many occasions for family meals , girls night out ,and on this occation 15 of us went for my mams 70 th birthday . as usual we had a great night food was superb as always with lots of choice of food and drinks which are always a reasonable price for such good quality meals. staff always very friendly and my mum had a lovely time x ho and if you like cocktails they are always lovely too xx pina colada my fav xx defo worth a vist x

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pussycat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sorrento Restaurant also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Sorrento Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing