We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off bar prices!!! Avoid at all costs unless you feel like being fleeced.”
Review of Sunderland Empire

Sunderland Empire
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Rip off bar prices!!! Avoid at all costs unless you feel like being fleeced.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Well everyone enjoys the theatre (internally nicer than the Theatre Royal but externally traditional brick rather than stone) but what lets this place down big style is the rip off bar prices.
Unbelievable a 330ml bottle of Stella £4.20, large glass of wine £6.20!! No draught beer at all. We will never patronise the bar ever again, we say that every time but this time we mean it. The bar tariff is so small you can't read it and there is no mention on the website.
Ice creams £3 for a tiny portion.
When we queried the prices we were told the theatre is one of a number owned by the same company and they charge the same prices throughout the country so in London this is quite reasonable - a pathetic excuse I'm afraid and no excuse. Avoid at all costs!
We are ATG members so we get a 10% discount - woweee! Theatre tickets are expensive enough without the need to be ripped off again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rowtietowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    175
    64
    20
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Evening of dirty dancing”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Enjoyed show, booked online and tickets ready on arrival (booking fee) as the theatre was not full had free upgrade. Very good production. On site bar, snacks and ice cream. Toilets on each floor

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ian1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“2oth Century Boy”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Ws at the opening night 19th May.Well. what could i say. It was an excellent sequence of the short life of a rock star.The acting and singing was superb.The show was indescribable, Seeing it and being there was something else.The audience reaction was an experience that only a North East Audience in a wonderful theatre (Sunderland Empire) can produce., lt was HOT LOVE.The cast were brilliant , and obviously feeding off the audience reaction,and the T. Rex gig at the end of the show was SPECTACULAR.Not to be missed, the price of your seat can never justify the experience of this wonderful show

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely theatre but with slightly restricted view of the stage”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a trip to see War Horse. We were both blown away by the show, it was amazing. The theatre is lovely and much smaller than the Edinburg playhouse which we usually travel to. We did however struggle to see parts of the stage from our seats at the side of the upper circle. There is also a lot of steps up, this wasn't a problem for us but may be for others. (I didn't see a lift). If you are looking for a bite to eat before or after a performance I can highly recommend Harby's lounge in the Isis pub on Silksworth Row which is only a few minutes walk away. The food and service is outstanding, it is traditional English food of extremely high quality at a very reasonable price. Also a stones throw from the theatre is a travelodge, we stayed 1 night with free parking, this is located closer than the car park advertised for theatre parking!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cassmuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“War Horse”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

sat throught he most excellent of shows at Sunderland empire Theatre.
War Horse more than thrilled, it was brilliant and many times i had to tell myself, "Its not a Real Horse" but,, the theatre was reall lovely with good seating and very good views of the stage.
we have been before it was modernised and now.. well! cant wait to go again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pickybeggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunderland Empire also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Sunderland Empire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing