We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice theatre”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunderland Empire

Sunderland Empire
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice theatre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Shows are usually good but the price of drinks at the bar and the cost of ice cream is a disgrace. Would have given 4 stars but for that.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    168
    62
    18
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

A lovely little theatre, comfortable seats and not too cramped. It gets some great shows. The downside is the price of the drinks at the bar is a little steep, especially for basic plastic cups if you want to take it into the auditorium.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Evita or mumble”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

After seeing more than 25 shows at this wonderful theatre we were left very very disappointed. , During the first half of Evita we could not make out much of the singing, it came across very mumbled and unaudiable. Many people also said this in our hearing during the interval said the same. In the second half the sound was as should have been, I felt this was due to the problem been found and corrected. Yet when we lodged our complaint of same we were told no one else had complained of this. We replied this was very hard to believe. A very disappointing show for us not worth the money we paid at all.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worthwhile show 'Annie get your Gun' but extortionate bar prices!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great show and ticket cost were brilliant but unfortunately left the venue feeling let down by the refreshments bill - how on earth can you charge £6.10 for a medium, 175ml, glass of wine (large I was informed was a pound more!) - unable to read the small price list on the wall to prepare us for the shock or confirm what we had been charged. Never again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank moomooross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“20th Century Boy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Empire has really benefited from it's recent refurbishment. We really enjoyed the show, especially as we got discount tickets through TravelZoo which makes entertainment more affordable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunderland Empire also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Sunderland Empire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing