We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“20th Century Boy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunderland Empire

Sunderland Empire
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“20th Century Boy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The musical was excellent! Although I had only heard of the band T Rex and no some of their songs, they were before my time. However, I enjoyed the show immensely and could not fault the performers or the set changes. The actor who played Marc Bolan was superb! He got the look and the voice down perfectly. The songs were so catchy and everyone was having a good time. I am a theatre lover and try to go as often as I can.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    167
    61
    18
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“very pricey drinks.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The theatre and show were excellent but £25+ for 2 cans of Tetleys bitter and 2 medium glasses of white wine certainly wasn't!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
185 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Fantastic theatre ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We went for the pantomime and had front row seats.
This made the whole experience more special for my son (age 4)
The theatre is itself beautiful.
Plenty drinks choice at the bar and the ability to reserve for the interval.

Helpful?
Thank Princesskathmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Westend shows on your doorstep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The Sunderland Empire Theatre is capable of hosting westend shows which is a fantastic coup for Sunderland!! The theatre is not for the wealthy, tickets are affordable and all ages go to see shows. It isn't a gown and tux venue, it's open to people from all walks of life! I have an AVG card which means I can book online with no booking and postage fees. The Empire has a fantastic history too, which can be seen in it's architecture, it's design and the stories surrounding the theatre such as being haunted by the ghost of Sid James. It offers fantastic opportunities for local dancers to perform in the pantos. A fab building with fab shows. Drinks are expensive but intervals are long enough if you want to pop to the bar across the road for a quick drink as long as you can present your ticket to get back in.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NaomiFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Annie get your gun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We went to see annie get your gun which was really good , and like a London production. I love the theatre itself and will most certainly be back, i have bought tickets for Wicked and the panto , and i am also going to book to see Vampires Rock/

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunderland Empire also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Sunderland Empire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing