We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starving Student Perfection”
Review of Shawarma Grill

Shawarma Grill
Ranked #175 of 422 Restaurants in Sunderland
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Starving Student Perfection”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We come in every Wednesday before lectures and there's always a warm welcome. I always have falafels in a naan wrap with extra jalapeños.

Perfect, perfect brain food. Hits the spot every time. And with a little cup of proper tea in a turkish cup it's the best £3 you can spend on a meal anywhere in the NE.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More magical than Hogwarts”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Jesus turned water into wine. Sir Isaac Newton discovered gravity. Rocky Balboa beat Ivan Draco in Rocky IV. These mere miracles are nothing compared to the taste sensation and brilliance that is Shawarma. Enjoy.

Helpful?
5 Thank Kiera W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“The best”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is my favourite place to go for something to eat its very nice food and very authentic, some people say they are greasy and they are a little bit but what do you expect from a kebab. Would recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelOld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Greasy”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

tried this place as ive often passed and it seems very busy however have to say the time i visited wasnt really that impressed , dont get me wrong its good value cheap food takeaway and fits the spot service is good and you can sit in but i just found it a greasy tastleless kebab dunno why all the rave only plus i found was the fresh nanns you can order to take away 3 for a pound i think so will be back for those and make my own kebabs at home.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seaham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Visit here all the time really good value, wraps and sandwiches are out of this world the chicken is perfect spiced, juicy and succulent also the salad is forehand the nan's are cooked in front of you in a tandoori oven. All my work colleagues love them, a must try

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brenvts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shawarma Grill also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Shawarma Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing