We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and wine”
Review of The Ivy house

The Ivy house
Ranked #43 of 427 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: At the Ivy House we do things a little differently. For us its all about choice. Yes, we sell Fosters, John Smiths and Smirnoff but we also sell Brooklyn, an eclectic range of cask and craft beers and a diverse choice of spirits. We want you to enjoy a comfortable vibe where you can listen to good tunes & feel relaxed. We don't have a microwave, not one. We don't do frozen, all our food including our own buns. Our pizza's & burgers are as fresh as it gets and all made right in front of you. Come in & see for yourself
Restaurant details
Description: At the Ivy House we do things a little differently. For us its all about choice. Yes, we sell Fosters, John Smiths and Smirnoff but we also sell Brooklyn, an eclectic range of cask and craft beers and a diverse choice of spirits. We want you to enjoy a comfortable vibe where you can listen to good tunes & feel relaxed. We don't have a microwave, not one. We don't do frozen, all our food including our own buns. Our pizza's & burgers are as fresh as it gets and all made right in front of you. Come in & see for yourself
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and wine”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Having been a customer at The Ivy House for about 10 years I was happy to see the place renovated and taken over by management that seem to really care. Pizzas and burgers are made from scratch and are absolutely excellent and the wine list is probably the best out of all the pubs in Sunderland. A very good range of beers and ales also. Service is always with a smile. Toilets definitely need improvement, as they had been left as they were before the renovation, which is a bit of a let down considering how lovely the bar area is. Also could make better use of the yard space at the back so you can sit out there in the summer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vonniestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    27
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A refreshing change!”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We'd heard that this place had been recently been taken over by new owners and had read an excellent review in the Sunderland Echo, so decided to stop in for something to eat one evening. I had a pizza topped with madras prawns, mango chutney and coriander and my partner had roast pork with sauerkraut and blue cheese and both were absolutely fantastic. Neither of us had seen pizzas with toppings like these before and we couldn't believe how well they all worked together. My pizza was without doubt better than anything I've had in any Italian restaurant and the husband said the same; the bases were thin, both were perfectly cooked and the service was attentive but never intrusive. I had a lovely glass of wine and my partner had a pint of real ale which he said was excellent. It's a refreshing change to see a pub try to innovate and put so much thought and effort into their food and drink and not just serve up the same old plate of deep fried food and off licence wine. All in all, not what you'd expect from a back street Sunderland pub and the whole thing made a very refreshing change from the usual pub experience in Sunderland, would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Much improved”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We visited the Ivy a year ago and it was looking a little uncared for. It has been improved since then and now not only offers better food but also a wider and better variety of real beer

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank trev l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Delicious lunchtime eats for a young family - but could be better”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I happened to pop in last week and had a great burger - and asked if they allow children in as we often eat in the Cooper Rose over a weekend.

Came in with my wife and 9month old. Food is great, beer is great. We both had pizzas and we ordered doughballs. Thin crusts, served promptly friendly staff. Mine was essentially pork and black pudding - my wife had a chorizo one. The burger I had previously was bacon and blue cheese. We had no problem getting hot water for the bottle warming which can be a request too far for some places.

Get some high chairs. Lunchtime was very quiet it could be a far more lively if the audience was widened. Didn't have need to use the toilets - so can't comment on previous posts. Given we were thinking of having the venue for a family do - we'll nip back and inspect.

Well worth a visit, on a lunchtime - quiet venue: really delicious and plentiful food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andymwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not suitable for families”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

A recent visit for food with family found a decent pint and good food. However some incidents whiteness suggested not the best of environments to share with young family members.Would return with adults only.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank maxine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ivy house also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Ivy house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing