We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer ,Great Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Ivy house

The Ivy house
Ranked #33 of 475 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: At the Ivy House we do things a little differently. For us its all about choice. Yes, we sell Fosters, John Smiths and Smirnoff but we also sell Brooklyn, an eclectic range of cask and craft beers and a diverse choice of spirits. We want you to enjoy a comfortable vibe where you can listen to good tunes & feel relaxed. We don't have a microwave, not one. We don't do frozen, all our food including our own buns. Our pizza's & burgers are as fresh as it gets and all made right in front of you. Come in & see for yourself
Restaurant details
Description: At the Ivy House we do things a little differently. For us its all about choice. Yes, we sell Fosters, John Smiths and Smirnoff but we also sell Brooklyn, an eclectic range of cask and craft beers and a diverse choice of spirits. We want you to enjoy a comfortable vibe where you can listen to good tunes & feel relaxed. We don't have a microwave, not one. We don't do frozen, all our food including our own buns. Our pizza's & burgers are as fresh as it gets and all made right in front of you. Come in & see for yourself
Reviewed 21 May 2017

One of the best Sunday lunches we have had, the service was excellent,the beer was great too with plenty to choose from

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 0055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, General Manager at The Ivy house, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thank you for your review of the ivy house.

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2017

Good pub, only ate there the once and the food was excellent. Opted for the seafood pizza with spicey wedges, tasty and fresh I sturuggled to finish it.

I tend to call in every other weekend always a good atmosphere and packed, good music too. Only downside is some of the staff have massive chips on their shoulders. Apart from that I'd definitely recommend giving it a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jay_1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, General Manager at The Ivy house, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thank you for your review of the ivy house

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Truly great, welcoming and positive atmosphere and a real effort made by staff to remove any negativity.

Incredible food. The pizza's trump several surrounding Italian restaurants (just dont go for the extra hot one, I died a little that day).

Good selection of craft beers, knowledgeable staff, and an ever changing, solid selection of cask ales with a discount for CAMRA members, a rarity in Sunderland.

It would be frustrating for any ale drinker to visit and find the majority of the hand pulls 'off' but really, anyone so passionate about real ale as to visit exclusively to drink it and then leave a bad review here when they left disappointed, would also presumably be intelligent enough to know that a pub that is willing to immediately replace a cask without cleaning the lines first is not likely to be serving the best quality beer.

There are plenty of pubs in the surrounding area doing just that. It doesn't take long to walk to any of them.

Thank neil84uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, General Manager at The Ivy house, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Good Morning

Thank you for your review of the Ivy House.

We are pleased you enjoy everything we have to offer & look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards

Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Very disappointed with a pub claiming to sell 6 hand pulled products. Two beers and one cider were on .Beers available were a 4.2 % stout and a 5.5% IPA. During our visit there was no desire to replace the beers that were 'off'. There was, however, an extensive range of 'craft' canned beers, keenly advertised on a large chalk board..Their advert in the local Camra - Angle magazine suggested that the pub was passionate about cask ale. A business passionate about ale should have beers ready to go 'on' especially if three out of five available pumps have gone 'off' as quickly as they may have done.This pub gives the impression that it would prefer to sell craft tins as opposed to real ale.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank maltnhops2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, General Manager at The Ivy house, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Good Morning

Thank you for your review of the Ivy House.

I am sorry you feel we have made false claims regarding our hand pulled pumps but should you have re-visited the pub or visited on more than one occasion you will of found this not to be true.
During busy times we cannot always identify the number of products that will 'sell out.'
Whilst we always have new cask ales ready to go on, I hope you appreciate to ensure the quality of our product is maintained, lines need to be cleaned etc before making a new product available.
During busy times ie match days this may mean that this does not take place until there is quieter time as we do not wish to neglect service levels and lose a member of the team to carry out this task.
Should you have visited later in the day you would of been able to sample all of the 6 hand pulls.
We do pride ourselves on our cask ales, this is why we continue to improve year on year in the CAMRA rankings.
Hopefully you will give us another opportunity should you ever be in the area again

Kind Regards
Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

The Ivy House is a great pub, with friendly staff, a wide range of ales and excellent home made Pizzas and Burgers

Thank JohnMC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, General Manager at The Ivy house, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Good afternoon

Thank you for your review of the Ivy House.

We are pleased we tick all your boxes and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ivy house also viewed

Heddon-on-the-Wall, Northumberland
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Ivy house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing