We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good brew, good food, good experience”
Review of The Ivy house

The Ivy house
Ranked #35 of 479 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$11
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: At the Ivy House we do things a little differently. For us its all about choice. Yes, we sell Fosters, John Smiths and Smirnoff but we also sell Brooklyn, an eclectic range of cask and craft beers and a diverse choice of spirits. We want you to enjoy a comfortable vibe where you can listen to good tunes & feel relaxed. We don't have a microwave, not one. We don't do frozen, all our food including our own buns. Our pizza's & burgers are as fresh as it gets and all made right in front of you. Come in & see for yourself
Restaurant details
Description: At the Ivy House we do things a little differently. For us its all about choice. Yes, we sell Fosters, John Smiths and Smirnoff but we also sell Brooklyn, an eclectic range of cask and craft beers and a diverse choice of spirits. We want you to enjoy a comfortable vibe where you can listen to good tunes & feel relaxed. We don't have a microwave, not one. We don't do frozen, all our food including our own buns. Our pizza's & burgers are as fresh as it gets and all made right in front of you. Come in & see for yourself
Reviewed 17 June 2017

Was visiting my in laws in Sunderland with my mate and on the last day, stopped into The Ivy House for an early dinner before our flight. My in laws live a short distance away and I was surprised when they said this establishment allows dogs! So they brought their dog along and we ordered 3 burgers and a curry. One burger was mistakenly brought out with chicken rather than beef but straight away the lovely waitress fessed up to the kitchens error and said we could keep the incorrect order and they would also bring out the correct order! Then I went to buy 2 beers and a juice at the bar and as it was happy hour, got to press this red buzzer which skipped through options on a screen which would say how much I would pay for the drinks. To my surprise, it landed on 'free' so I got the entire round for free! The food came out and it was all lovely, especially the wedges served with the burgers. They even gave my friend another free juice because of the error with her burger order. All in all, a great experience, friendly staff, great tunes playing in the background and dog friendly. It's a shame I live in Australia as I would make this my local!! Thanks again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Analia_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, General Manager at The Ivy house, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Good Morning,

Thank you for your review of the Ivy House.

We are please you enjoyed your experience & hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the UK.

Kind Regards

Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2017

We were very impressed. We were accompanied by our Australian daughter in law, her Irish friend and our very large German Shepherd. The atmosphere was very welcoming and within minutes presented with menus and our GS with a bowl of water and a doggie treat - he could have doggie beer too! The menu was mainly burgers and pizzas, which we knew before we visited, however ALL handmade and certainly sounded very tasty. Dishes chosen it was off to the bar to order- daughter in law offered to buy the drinks, there were lots of small independent brewery ales on offer. Personally I very rarely drink ale but chose to try 'Oracle' and very glad I did. There were cocktails and various Gins to choose from - paradise! Daughter returned to the table to tell us 'the drinks were free' apparently there's a 'button' which when pressed, a bit like a fruit machine, spins and if you hit at the right time your drinks are free!!! Food was very tasty and served by a delightful young lady. We all enjoyed our visit, including GS, he was fed numerous treats. The ambiance, the food, the drinks and the service were all superb. Only recently moved into this part of Sunderland and have decided The Ivy House is definitely going to be our local. Well done!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, General Manager at The Ivy house, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your review of the Ivy House.

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit & look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Very good value for money. Food was quickly made and tasted very nice deffintley recommend. Also the service was tip top. She was very polite and well mannered and carried drinks over for us.

Thank liamtaylor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, General Manager at The Ivy house, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review of the Ivy House.

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit & look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

One of the best Sunday lunches we have had, the service was excellent,the beer was great too with plenty to choose from

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 0055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, General Manager at The Ivy house, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thank you for your review of the ivy house.

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Good pub, only ate there the once and the food was excellent. Opted for the seafood pizza with spicey wedges, tasty and fresh I sturuggled to finish it.

I tend to call in every other weekend always a good atmosphere and packed, good music too. Only downside is some of the staff have massive chips on their shoulders. Apart from that I'd definitely recommend giving it a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jay_1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly R, General Manager at The Ivy house, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thank you for your review of the ivy house

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ivy house also viewed

Heddon-on-the-Wall, Northumberland
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Ivy house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing