We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monsoon extravaganza”
Review of Monsoon Kitchen

Monsoon Kitchen
Ranked #43 of 425 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Grill and Asian Fusion
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Monsoon extravaganza”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

A new restaurant with a great location, great service and gorgeous food. Beautiful surroundings in this restaurant can't fault it and the staff are welcoming and very friendly. The best ezperience I have had and willl go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hinna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    26
    7
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland uk
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food Fantastic People”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Highly recommended!! The first thing is the fab interior and very friendly staff. They are happy to talk through the menu and although you wait around 20mins(as everything is cooked fresh from scratch)it is well worth the wait. The food is delicious and authentic, from recipes handed down from the family. My friends tried the chicken byrianni which was a delight and the surf and turf was one of the best steaks I have ever had. It is reasonably priced and although alchohol is off the menu the there is a range of soft and authenic Asian soft drinks. I would say to anyone give this little gem a try..I'll be back!! YUM :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Proper Indian Food”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This it authentic Indian food, predominantly from Punjab. Bears little resembance to your average Bangladeshi restaurants & take aways. The food is freshly prepared (within reason) & the difference is obvious. I had the Onion Bhajia served with 4 little pots of pickle, and was not the usual stodgy, greasy ball of flour that is normally served. For main I had Chicken Vindaloo, which is how Vindaloo should be cooked, with vinegar & lots of garlic, not just stupidly hot as many people perceive. It was on the hot side for sure, but very tasty. The Naan bread was nice & light & not stodgy. I had the cold rice pudding, Kheer, which was nice but too sweet for me, as I never normally have deserts - ever ! This is the best Indian restaurant in town, simply because it is the only Indian restaurant in town ! Down side is that they don't allow any alcohol. I had Mango Lassi & a Coke, but I would have appreciated a Cobra. If you only eat the same Chicken Madras or Vindaloo with 6 pints at 11:00 at night, then this isn't for you, but if you appreciate good Indian Cuisine, then you'll not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New Indian food experience”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Was at the restaurant on Sunday evening for a birthday and glad we have found a new place to eat as the food was fabulous. Could not fault the service we received and asked lots of questions as to some of the food on the menu as it was totally different from any other Indian restaurant in the area. I had the handi chicken masala and my wife have the slow cooked lamb and the taste was excellent. Recommend a visit to this new gem in Sunderland

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KEV C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monsoon Kitchen also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Monsoon Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing