We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Glass Yard

The Glass Yard
Ranked #93 of 420 Restaurants in Sunderland
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Recently visited the brasserie for Sunday lunch and was not an experience to be shouting out about. Overall, the food was mediocre, presentation could have been better especially for the starter and the salad leaves were a bit brown. Main courses were just ok - the gravy was really thick and could taste it had lots of Bisto granules incorporated into it. The beef that I had was a bit tough to chew, I was expecting it to be tender and exquisite but was a bit disappointed with it.
I wouldn't return here soon.

Helpful?
Thank N_L56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    38
    16
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“dropped in for a coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We dropped in for a coffee on a miserable day, the staff were happy and welcoming. we were seated immediately even though it was busy, the service was attentive and the staff courteous and helpful had cake and a scone which were excellent would recommend a visit

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch by the riverside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Staff very attentive. Ordered the club sandwich and Fentimans dandelion & burdoch soft drink for my teenage son, shared fish platter with wine and a cappuccino for myself and husband. All food locally produced and was gorgeous. The club sandwich was well presented with home made chips. The soft drink was very nice. The fish platter was definitely worth ordering. At £8 for 2 people, there was halibut, smoked trout, smoked salmon and crab with spring onion served with salad, homemade tartar sauce, sweet chilli jam, dipping oil and olive bread. Very filling and the smoked fish was subtle rather than overpowering. The cappuccino was lovely as was the wine. This was more apparent when a second glass was ordered. Dessert was cheesecake and bread and butter pudding, which was homemade and very tasty. Service very good and timely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sconny0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Best Sunday lunch I have had in 20 years of living in Sunderland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Everything was great. The cutlery, the plates, the service, the food, the value, the ambience, the view. Just loved it, I normally go to Newcastle for Sunday lunch as Sunderland is pretty poor for Sunday lunches. This place changed my mind. Love the kids room too for them to play and draw etc. honestly don't know what people want, and we have very high standards.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nepxh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Won't hurry back!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Three of us went for lunch today. We certainly won't be in a hurry to go back! Menu very poor and service even worse! After sitting for over 10 minutes we had to go and ask for someone to come and take our order, when our sandwiches came they were ok but the bread was a bit stale around the edges. No one came to ask if everything was ok with our meals and once finished we had to go and find someone to get our bill! Not recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heather a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Glass Yard also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Glass Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing