We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant lunch in nice setting”
Review of The Glass Yard

The Glass Yard
Ranked #98 of 427 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch in nice setting”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We called into the bistro for a spot of lunch before heading to the Stadium of Light for today's game. It's a pleasant place with nice views over the river. I enjoyed my posh fish finger sandwich. It was served with chips (weirdly delivered in a mug) & a small salad and was pretty good value at £8.95. A Fentiman's ginger beer at £3.10 was less of a bargain. But all in all very enjoyable. 10% off for SAFC season card holders too. Wondering why we've never visited before.

Helpful?
1 Thank eddymaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Manager at The Glass Yard, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed your lunch. Don't forget Season ticket Holders get 10% off on non match days too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    39
    16
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“worst scones ever”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

first visit in many years. a bit of a refurb, wow those prices now look a bit steep, £2.50 for a scone and butter, gave it a try.
filter coffee very good
cheese scone just awful, tasteless, wholemeal, terrible bake and so, so heavy - almost inedible.
mentioned it to staff, lovely response, immediately took off bill and said would speak to chef.
i guess chef doesnt try his food?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retep Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Manager at The Glass Yard, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are sorry that you found our scones disappointing. We have recently revised our ingredients and now have a guest scone on daily. We thank you for your feedback and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Best breakfast outside of home for a long time, good selection of teas, food well cooked and presented.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OldClanEllmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Manager at The Glass Yard, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Many thanks for your positive review of The Brasserie. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“early lunch”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had an early light lunch and found the ploughman's and the fish platters very good.

The one complaint was the plates we were given were still dirty. The staff did change them but seemed a bit reluctant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Madcatwoman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Manager at The Glass Yard, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Many thanks for your review of The Brasserie. We are always looking for feedback from our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“excellent tea and scone”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Dunno why there's so many bad reviews of this place I mean its a brasserie not fine dining they have vastly improved the whole place service very good tea and scone very tasty and reasonably priced I will deffo be returning

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denssity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGC_GlassCentre, Manager at The Glass Yard, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Many thanks for your positive review of The Brasserie. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We have recently launched our Summer menu and have a daily guest scone which we hope you try on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Glass Yard also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
East Boldon, Sunderland
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Glass Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing